LibGuides: Faculty Resources: Kanopy (Streaming Media)

Using Kanopy

Kanopy: Streaming Media Collection

Both students and faculty have access to Kanopy for educational purposes. Students can watch movies, while faculty can search for and request films to support the curriculum.

Faculty Access

The links provided are intended for faculty use. Please embed the film link into your D2L Course shell.

On-Campus access: https://cccs.kanopy.com

Off-Campus access: https://ccco.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://cccs.kanopy.com/

Searching Kanopy & Requesting Films

Searching Kanopy and Requesting Films

The Kanopy home page shows the films already licensed. You will need to search for a specific title or subject in the search bar.

Search instructions:

You need to click search
Enter your search terms
You will see two options above the videos. In Collection and Request Access
Click Request Access to see the films that are available for purchase.
When you find a film you want to purchase, use the Kanopy Request form. Do not request access to the title through the Kanopy platform.
Please request videos in advance to allow time to purchase.
For Kanopy videos, licenses are available for 1-, 2-, and 3-year duration. If you anticipate using the video in future terms, please inform us when you make the request so we can make the most cost-efficient purchase. Instructors are responsible for copyright compliance.

Before a purchase is made, a search will be conducted to ensure the film is not available in another video database or freely available.

MCC Kanopy Request Form

Embedding Film Links into D2L

Instructors should embed links to the films for class into their D2L course shell.

Use the Share button available with each video. Either copy the film link or embed the video into your D2L course shell for students to view the film. To share a clip, you will need to create an account and then create a playlist which will allow you to share a link to a clip of the video you created. Students do not need an account to watch the clip or entire video.

Kanopy Faculty Use

Access to Kanopy is primarily as an instructional tool, and we gladly consider requests from instructors for films to be assigned for an entire class.
To use a Kanopy video available in the current collection, simply embed the link into your D2L course shell. Instructions provided above.
To request a video not currently in the collection, please search Kanopy and request it in advance using the Kanopy Request form.
Instructors should embed links to the films for class into their D2L course shell.
Instructors are responsible for copyright compliance. Please be aware of the intricacies of Copyright Law and online streaming. Educational fair use allows you to show a film in class face-to-face as long as it is directly related to your course content. When it comes to streaming video in educational settings, it is typically not allowed to publicly screen an entire film in the classroom. Online showings of streaming content generally can only be done by breaking technological locks, which would violate terms of service and is not an act protected by the sections of copyright law applicable to fair use. It is legitimate to request that students watch a video individually before class or as an assignment for discussion.

For further reading:

The Copyright Implications of Teaching with Videos
Video Use in the Classroom Libguide by the University of Oregon Library
T.E.A.C.H. Act (Distance Education) Libguide by the University of Oregon Library

Kanopy Student Use

Students can watch any of the individual videos already available in the library's Kanopy collection.
Kanopy is accessible to students through the library's Database A-Z list.
Check your D2L course shell for individual titles listed by your instructor.
New titles are added regularly in response to instructor requests.
If an instructor has assigned a video not available in the collection, students may ask the instructor to contact their local community college library to request it or instructors may use the Kanopy Request Form. We are unable to honor requests directly from students for new videos.
If students would like to view a video not available in our Kanopy collection for personal interest (e.g. not part of an assignment), please have students check with their local public library or use one of the other video sources listed below.

Other Films Collections Online

Film Collections Online

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand‘s platform provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public and academic libraries that offers films, TV shows and documentaries. Note that we do not subscribe to any Kanopy collections; individual titles are added at the request of instructors, to support specific courses.

Academic Film Archive of North America
Part of the Internet Archive, this database collects and preserves academic films across a broad range of subjects.
American Film Institute
The American Film Institute is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to preserving the history of America's moving image.
Film Comment Magazine
Published by Film at Lincoln Center, this art and culture magazine features reviews and analysis of film making around the world.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections
Representing more than 35,000 items, Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections presents a curated selection of materials from the library's extensive holdings on motion picture history.
Moving Image Archive
Part of the Internet Archive, the Moving Image Archive has digital movies that range from classic full-length films, to news, cartoons, and even concerts; most of which fall under the public domain.
Sundance Film Institute
The Sundance Institute is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to the discovery and development of independent filmmakers.
Library of Congress: Public Domain Films from the National Film Registry
The National Film Registry selects 25 films each year to showcase the range and diversity of American film heritage. These public domain selections are part of an online collection.
Academy Film Archive
Dedicated to the preservation, restoration, documentation, exhibition and study of motion pictures, the Academy Film Archive is home to one of the most diverse and extensive motion picture collections in the world.
British Pathe
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world. Spanning the years from 1896-1978, its collections include footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science, and culture. It is an invaluable resource for broadcasters, documentary producers, museum curators, and researchers worldwide.
The National Film and Sound Archive of Australia
Collecting, preserving and providing access to Australia's audiovisual heritage.
Focal International
International professional trade association representing film/audiovisual libraries, professional film researchers, producers and others working in the industry. The website provides assistance in finding footage and facilities.

Free Streaming Platforms

Use these different platforms to find different movies to view for free or through a free service tier. Use at your own discretion.

Vudu (free tier)
Crackle
Hoopla (sign up through public library)
Kanopy (sign up through public library
iMDB TV
Pluto TV
The Roku Channel (free tier)
Tubi TV
YouTube
Popcornflix
CON TV
Top Documentary Films

Disclaimer

Copyright issues can be complicated. This guide is meant to inform you of common issues surrounding copyright, but it is not legal advice.