Nursing: Books

Cardiac Surgery Essentials for Critical Care Nursing, Second Edition is an indispensable reference for new and experienced nurses caring for patients in intensive care units immediately following cardiac surgery.

Succinct, complete guidance on how to safely and competently care for adult, critically ill patients and their families - written by top clinical experts.

Now in its sixth edition, the Handbook of Drugs in Intensive Care is the essential guide to using drugs safely and effectively in the intensive care setting. The book is split into two sections: an A-Z guide to the drugs available, and concise notes on the key topics and situations faced on a daily basis. The A-Z section provides succinct information on each drug including uses, limitations, administration directions and adverse effects. The second section details practice guidelines such as insulin therapy, Parkinson's disease therapy when nil-by-mouth, and drug dosing in renal failure. This revised edition includes seventeen new drug monographs and covers several new topics, including blood glucose management. A colour chart showing drug compatibility for intravenous administration is included at the back of the book. Presented in a concise, compact format, this book is an invaluable resource for doctors, nurses, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals caring for critically ill patients.

Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology, Sixth Edition, is the updated, enhanced version of the student-favorite resource for essentials of medical pharmacology. The first-and-best resource, the Lippincott Illustrated Reviews series features clear, effective writing and hundreds of illustrations for ideal rapid review and the assimilation of complex information. Clear, sequential images present mechanisms of action and focus on showing rather than telling students how drugs work. New edition features: All NEW chapters on Drugs of Abuse, Drugs for Obesity, Antihistamines, Drugs for Urologic Disorders, Drugs for Hematopoietic Disorders, Drugs for Dermatological Disorders, and Drugs for Bone Disorders Over 380 study questions! Nearly 600 annotated, full-color illustrations visually explain complex processes! Outline format ideal for concise review and foundational learning

Welcome to the second edition of our dosage calculations book! Are you a nursing student, or nurse, who wants to learn a few simple methods of solving dosage calculations without a bunch of formulas?

Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so you can grasp the fundamentals.

Portable, up-to-date, and easy to use, the 2023 Lippincott® Pocket Drug Guide for Nurses provides instant access to vital drug information for clinical success in any setting. This handy pocket guide details essential information on more than 3,900 vital medications--including the latest drugs approved by the FDA--in an easy-access A-to-Z format ideal for on-the-go nursing students or practitioners.

Master content from the textbook with this helpful study tool! Designed to accompany Ignatavicius' Medical-Surgical Nursing, 6th edition, this workbook will assist students in understanding and applying material from each chapter in the text.

Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care, Sixth Edition provides readers with all of the practical knowledge and skills they need to care for adult patients-without overwhelming readers with unnecessary and dense writing. KEY TOPICS: Carefully selected content focuses on the things that new nurses will need to know when they first enter practice: how to promote health, facilitate recovery from illness and injury, and provide support when coping with disability or loss. Throughout the text, the authors focus on individualized holistic nursing care as the essential element in learning and practicing nursing, regardless of the gender, age, race, culture, or socioeconomic background of the patient or practitioner. Readers are given the tools they need to develop their clinical reasoning skills so that they can make safe and effective decisions on the job. With its understandable language, visual approach, and consistent teaching and learning format, it's no surprise that readers overwhelmingly report that they truly like reading this text. MARKET: Medical-Surgical Nursing is appropriate for courses in medical-surgical nursing. It also serves as a helpful reference for practicing nurses.

Learn to think like a nurse with the bestselling nursing care planning book on the market! Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems seen in adults, Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 9th Edition contains 217 care plans, each reflecting the latest best practice guidelines.

Florence Nightingale wrote 'Notes on Nursing' for caregivers in the home and it is remarkable how much of the original remains relevant today. This modern edition aims to complement the work of Florence Nightingale, extending her reach to new generations committed to caring for the people they love.

For millions of people worldwide, nurses are the difference between life and death, self-sufficiency and dependency, hope and despair. But a lack of understanding of what nurses really do - one perpetuated by popular media's portrayal of nurses as simplistic archetypes - has devalued theprofession and contributed to a global shortage that constitutes a public health crisis. Today, the thin ranks of the nursing workforce contribute to countless preventable deaths.

This light-hearted, fun, fresh, and easy-to-read guide for nursing students by nursing students is full of practical information to help them cope with--and get the most out of--nursing school.

Written specifically for nurses who are at the front lines of health care in hospitals, outpatient clinics, surgery centers, home health care settings, etc, this author emphasizes real world ethical challenges for nurses. The book provides guidelines on current and future ethical challenges, how to have moral courage and project the readers own voice, and an overall guide to communication and ethics consultation.

Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2001 by Choice Why turn to the past when attempting to build nursing's future'...To make good decisions in planning nursing's future in the context of our complex health care system, nurses must know the history of the actions being considered, the identities and points of view of the major players, and all the stakes that are at risk.

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title 2014! 2014 winner of the American Association for the History of Nursing's Mary M. Roberts Award for Exemplary Historical Research and Writing! The Routledge Handbook on the Global History of Nursing brings together leading scholars and scholarship to capture the state of the art and science of nursing history, as a generation of researchers turn to the history of nursing with new paradigms and methodological tools.