Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th Edition Citation Guide

Shortened Citation

The first time you cite a source you will cite the full note. After that, you will use a shortened version of the citation.

Footnote/Endnote Example:

Full citation: 16. Michael Habicht, Elena Varotto, and Francesco Maria Galassi. “The Boy Who Never Became Pharaoh? A Theoretical Study in Identification.” Anthropologie 60, no. 3 (2022): 531. https://www.jstor.org/stable/27180053.
Shortened Citation: 17. Habicht et al, "The Boy", 536.

Article Citation Examples

Overall Notes:

If the article has a DOI (Digital Object Identifier), add the DOI to the end of the citation. If the article has both a DOI and a URL, only use the DOI. If your article only has a long complicated URL, it is best to indicate where your article came from instead. Ex: Jstor, EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.
Reports are treated like books, so follow the book citation example and put a URL at the end if found online.

Journal Article (Library Database)
Footnote/Endnote Author First Name and Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): Page #, DOI/URL. Example: 18. Michelle Orihel, “‘All Those Truly Acquainted with the History of Those Times’: John Adams and the Opposition Politics of Revolutionary England, ca. 1640-41,” The New England Quarterly 86, no. 3 (2013): 455, http://www.jstor.org/stable/43285009.	Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): First Page # - Last Page #, DOI/URL. Example: Orihel, Michelle. “‘All Those Truly Acquainted with the History of Those Times’: John Adams and the Opposition Politics of Revolutionary England, ca. 1640-41.” The New England Quarterly 86, no. 3 (2013): 433–66. http://www.jstor.org/stable/43285009.

Journal Article with an article number or eLocator
Note Author First Name and Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): Page #, eLocator #, DOI/URL. Example: Eoin J. O'Gorman and David Hone, "Body Size Distribution of Dinosaurs," PLoS ONE 7, no. 12 (2012): 3-4, e51925. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0051925.	Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): eLocator #. DOI/URL. Example: O'Gorman, Eoin J. and David Hone. "Body Size Distribution of Dinosaurs." PLoS ONE 7, no. 12 (2012): e51925. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0051925.

Journal Article (Two Authors)
Footnote/Endnote Author 1 First and Last Name and Author 2 First and Last Name, "Title of Article," Title Of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): Page #, DOI/URL. Example: 42. ZanetteT. Glørstad and Ingunn Røstad, "Echoes of the Past: Women, Memories and Disc-on-Bow Brooches in Vendel- and Viking-Period Scandinavia," European Journal of Archaeology 24, no.1 (2021): 89-107.doi:https://doi.org/10.1017/eaa.2020.23.	Bibliography Author 1 Last Name, Author 1 First Name and Author 2 First and Last Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): First Page # - Last Page #, DOI/URL. Example: Glørstad, Zanette T. and Ingunn Røstad. "Echoes of the Past: Women, Memories and Disc-on-Bow Brooches in Vendel- and Viking-Period Scandinavia." European Journal of Archaeology 24, no. 1 (2021): 89-107. doi:https://doi.org/10.1017/eaa.2020.23.

Journal Article (Three to Six Authors) In your note list only the first author followed by et al In your bibliography, list all authors
Footnote/Endnote Author 1 First and Last Name et al., "Title of Article," Title Of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): Page #, DOI/URL. Example: 95. Tia Gaynor et al., “Segregated Spaces and Separated Races: The Relationship Between State-Sanctioned Violence, Place, and Black Identity.” RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences 7 no. 1 (2021): 4, https://doi.org/10.7758/rsf.2021.7.1.04.	Bibliography Author 1 Last Name, Author 1 First Name and Author 2 First and Last Name and Author 3 First and Last Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): First Page # - Last Page #, DOI/URL. Example: Gaynor, Tia Sherèe, Seong C. Kang, and Brian N. Williams. “Segregated Spaces and Separated Races: The Relationship Between State-Sanctioned Violence, Place, and Black Identity.” RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences 7, no. 1 (2021): 50–66. https://doi.org/10.7758/rsf.2021.7.1.04.

Journal Article (Seven or More Authors) For your footnote, list the first author followed by et al. In the bibliography, list the first three authors followed by et al.
Footnote/Endnote Author First Name and Last Name et al. "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): Page #, DOI/URL Example: 18. Anak Agung Gede Paka et al. "Bali is Dressing-Up: Ritual as an Identity." Journal of Environmental Management & Tourism 11, no. 6 (Fall, 2020): 1560-1570. doi:https://doi.org/10.14505/jemt.v11.	Bibliography Author 1 Last Name, Author 1 Last Name, Author 2 First and Last Name, Author 3 First and Last Name et al. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume #, no. Issue # (Date of Publication): First page # - Last page #. DOI/URL. Example: Paka, Anak Agung Gede, Novi Anoegrajekti, Putu Ngurah Suyatna Yasa et al. "Bali is Dressing-Up: Ritual as an Identity." Journal of Environmental Management & Tourism 11, no. 6 (Fall, 2020): 1560-1570. doi:https://doi.org/10.14505/jemt.v11.

Magazine For magazine articles found online, put the URL at the end of your citation or the database it came from (not both)
Footnote/Endnote Author First and Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Publication, Date of Publication, page #. Example: 2. Andrew Curry, "The Lost World of Lihyan: A Forgotten City of Spice Traders Once Ruled the Oases of Northern Arabia," Archaeology Magazine, March/April 2021, 30.	Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Publication, Date of Publication. Example: Curry, Andrew. "The Lost World of Lihyan: A Forgotten City of Spice Traders Once Ruled the Oases of Northern Arabia." Archaeology Magazine. March/April 2021.

Newspaper Article/Editorial/Opinion For news articles found online, put the URL at the end of your citation or the database it came from (not both) Page numbers are not necessary in your note citation Remove the the from newspaper titles. Ex: Chicago Tribune instead of The Chicago Tribune You will put editorial/opinion/or the regular feature name after the title: "Title," editorial, Newspaper name,...
Footnote/Endnote Author First and Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Publication, Date of Publication. Example: 2. Hernandez, Elizabeth, "Starting a New Chapter," Denver Post, October 30, 2024, Newsbank.	Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Publication, Date of Publication. Example: Elizabeth Hernandez. "Starting a New Chapter." Denver Post. October 30 2024, Newsbank.