What is Research?
You conduct research by finding reputable, reliable, and scholarly sources to answer your research question. Most of the time, these sources are available in library databases. Here are some databases to try out:
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health resources for studying and preparing for class: flash cards, review questions, infographics and lectures on body systems, and 2-minute refreshers on evidence-based practices. Also includes a drug database; and videos demonstrating procedures, patient interviews, disease pathophysiology, and treatments.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health journal articles, legal cases, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Alternative/complementary medicine and consumer health information are also covered.
-
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Background information, eBooks, and research articles on health and wellness topics that explain in plain language common conditions and treatments; includes mainstream and holistic medicine.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Stream videos on educational subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, and political science.
-
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health students will find research on clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration, and more.
-
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window Academic journals and dissertations related to hospitals, ethics, healthcare laws, insurance, and public health.
-
Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Interactive 3D anatomy models by body system or area. Includes study aids like quizzes and accessibility features like read-aloud, captions, translation, and adjustable font size.
-
Mosby's Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window Definitions of medical terms and concepts with diagrams and images. Great for studying anatomy, nursing, and other health sciences.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health students will find research articles, clinical skills development, and curriculum support with videos on body systems, articles from academic journals like the New England Journal of Medicine, the Lancet, and Journal of Nursing Education. Includes case studies and free science and medicine images.
-
ProQuest Central Premium This link opens in a new window Search all ProQuest databases at once, on multiple subjects. Includes academic and news articles.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Articles on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
-
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health students will find research on nutrition, physical fitness, population studies, social services, biology, - genetics, substance abuse, special education and rehabilitation, environmental studies, communicable diseases, allergies, and immunology.
-
Science Database This link opens in a new window Searches all ProQuest Science content on materials science, aerospace, engineering, computers, military, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Frequently cited scientific research from a variety of disciplines, including Nursing & Allied Health. Articles often begin with a Highlights section, so you can quickly read study findings and why they matter.
-
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Background information, definitions, and summaries of science topics—great for studying and preparing for research in biology, chemistry, physics, and more.
This list is only a small amount of all the awesome databases available to you! If you'd like more, go to the A-Z Databases.
More about Research
Research is:
- Asking questions and investigating that topic to learn more about it.
- A cycle. As we move through the stages of the research process we may have to repeat steps we completed earlier.
- Fun! Especially if you choose a topic that interests you and allow yourself the needed time to research, write, and cite.
Learn more on the How to Research module in the Library Classroom.
Evidence-Based Practice
Learning how to research is especially important so that you can use evidence-based practice when you are in the field.
"The goal of evidence-based practice is to quickly incorporate the best available research, augmented with personal experience and patient preferences, into clinical practice. By doing so, clinicians can improve the quality of care they provide and enhance patient results." (USC Price, 2013).
Learn more: What is Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare
Need Research Help?
Click below to Book a Librarian through Navigate!
Ask a Librarian
