How to Give Proper Attribution
T = the title of the image
A = the author (or artist)
S = the source (or where it is located online)
L = the license for the image
More details on How to attribute a Creative Commons licensed work
“Open Attribution Builder” by Open Washington, SBCTC is licensed under CC BY 4.0
Not all resources on these sites are Public Domain or CC Licensed. Be sure to check the rights for each item.
Primary Sources from DocsTeach - Thousands of online primary source documents from the National Archives to bring the past to life as classroom teaching tools.
Online Exhibits at the National Archives - Exhibits featuring online documents, photos and primary sources from the National Archives
Library of Congress Digital Collections - Extensive collections of manuscripts, printed materials, images, archived websites, audio recordings, notated music, video, maps, and newspapers. Permissions and citations are shown at the item level.
Digital Public Library of America: Primary Source Sets - Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
Europeana - provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for - use the "Can I use this?" limiter after searching.
Library of Congress Guide to Citing Primary Sources
Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States
Google Image Search - after searching, click on Tools, then Usage Rights.
Creative Commons videos on Vimeo - also, you can search, then Refine by: License.
YouTube - after searching, click on Filters, then Creative Commons
Project Gutenberg - over 60,000 free eBooks, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired
Hathi Trust - a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world