Multidisciplinary Databases:
NOTE: If you are accessing the databases from off campus, you will need to click on the Colorado Community Colleges Login and enter your S# and password.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Great starting point for most academic assignments because it covers so many topics. Includes a variety of publication types, like academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and video.
-
ProQuest Central Premium This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases at once, on multiple subjects. Includes academic and news articles.
-
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Arguments for and against social and political issues. Helps students research topics like gun control, climate change, and censorship for persuasive essays, debates, and discussion posts.
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Background, research, and opinions on recent controversial social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Helpful for assignments in writing, science, sociology, and political science classes.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
History, art, and anthropology students will find older journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Includes Artstor, images of museum and archive holdings, like artifacts, paintings, photographs, advertisements, and other original art.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis database of tertiary resources includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
-
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Background on issues and events related to politics, society, the economy, and scientific discoveries.
Each research guide has a list of databases best suited for that class. However, based on the subject or topic of your paper, we welcome you to explore other Research Guides. You are also welcome to explore directly from the database list.
English - Literature Databases
NOTE: If you are accessing the databases from off campus, you will need to click the Colorado Community Colleges Login and enter your S# and password.
-
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowBloom’s Literature contains a wide range of reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works.
Also includes: Full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-text, classic works, and information on "How to Write about Literature.” -
Poetry and Short Story Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Poems, short stories, biographies, essays, and study guides on both classic and contemporary writing. Includes audio and video recordings from the Academy of American Poets. Great for literature, poetry, and creative writing research.
-
New Play Exchange Network This link opens in a new window
Scripts by living writers. Serves writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, actors, professors, students, and fans of the theater.
"An unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world."
-
Education Research Index (including ERIC) This link opens in a new window
Covers education research and teaching practices. Useful for education, child development, and classroom-focused assignments. Education Research Index combines two powerful education research indexes, ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) and the Supplemental Education Index. The unified indexes allow users to search all content via the ERIC thesaurus creating a unified research experience.
Peer Reviewed
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is a prepublication process used by most scholarly journals. Before an article is accepted for publication, the editors will send the manuscript to outside experts for review. The reviewers will then provide feedback on the quality of the research in the paper. The author can usually make revisions and resubmit the work for final acceptance.
Why do I care if an article is peer-reviewed?
Peer-reviewed articles are the gold standard for academic research. For students, it means that other experts have read and approved the methods and conclusions of the work, providing extra authority to the piece. It also means that the student does not have to put the source to the CRAAP Test or other evaluation methods to determine if it is appropriate for academic work, that process has already been done!
How do I find peer-reviewed articles?
Use subject databases that specialize in the field, which are more likely to include peer-reviewed journals. Many databases also include a "peer-reviewed articles only" checkbox.