These links read in order from top to bottom:
Home, Databases by Subject, EBSCO Discovery Search, Database A-Z List, Database Subscription Search, and Database Known Issues & Troubleshooting.
A library database is an online searchable collection of information. Libraries buy subscriptions to databases so learners (like you!) can access sources that are appropriate for academic research.
Library databases contain tons of information:
The library databases we subscribe to are specific to the academic programs offered on our campus. Students, faculty, and staff can use our library databases to find research and information on a variety of topics. The Colorado Community College System (which FRCC Westminster Library is included within) subscribes to about 117 databases! Each database is made up of specific publications like academic journals and/or magazines, films, newspapers or other media that make up what sort of information can be found in that database. Each source of information is organized and indexed by subjects terms and keywords based on what the source is about.
You may be thinking to yourself "Is a library database the same thing as Google?" Yes and no...
Search engines, such as Google, search the web for freely available information. Google can be considered a database since it contains a collection of searchable information. Just like a library database, Google contains tons of information but the information is a little different. Information can include:
Library databases contain really specific information that are meant to support your education and coursework at Front Range Community College. Google contains all sorts of information which makes it a good place to start your research (especially if you don't know much about your topic!) but don't stop your research process there.
When you search for something in Google you get potentially millions of results. Nowadays, most of these results are sponsored or promotional results - meaning a company is paying Google to promote their information/service. You may also notice that Google sometimes gives you different results. That is because Google uses algorithms (computer programs) to sort through information based on your location and your recent search activity.
However, using Google can be a lot of WORK on your part as the researcher. You have to verify manually that every source you find on Google is one you can trust. This takes a lot of time! Time you could be spending actually writing your paper! So... using the databases will ultimately save you time, energy, and work. The sources on the library databases are already verified as being appropriate for all kinds of academic research.