Need to destress during midterms? Therapy Dogs are here Wednesday, July 9th. Stop by to enjoy some paws-a-tivity!
Student Life Annex: 11:30 - 12:30
Library: 12:30 - 1:30
Photo by Ulf Sandström on Unsplash
Take some free vegetable seed packets for your garden! The seeds are located in the quiet study area in the old card catalogues. Ask at the front desk for directions. It's a great way to feed yourself, your family, and your community. If you have unwanted seeds, donate them in the green box on the information desk.
Photo by Nik Shuliahin 💛💙 on Unsplash
FRCC faculty, staff, and students can now use the library as a ticket to the outdoors by checking out the Colorado State Parks Pass & Backpack available at the FRCC library. Anyone with a library card can check out the backpack that includes a pass that allows one vehicle entry into any of Colorado’s 42 state parks. The pass can be checked out for up to one week at a time. The backpack is filled with fun and useful items for a delightful outdoor adventure.
Our librarian, Levi Fischer, created this amazing video on how to search the Library's databases. It starts with a simple search but moves into how to refine your search to improve your results.
Corbet visited the library on May 1st. Everyone enjoyed cuddles, fun, and relaxation. Look for future visits from the dogs during Fall and Spring semesters.
We asked our students about the importance of libraries in their lives. Here is what three students shared:
"Libraries are a safe space for me to study, read, or just be around humans in a controlled, relatively quiet atmosphere. I would go to a library instead of going home when I was in an abusive relationship so that at least a part of my day was calm, but not isolated."
"These safe havens full of books have always provided the doorways to other countries."
"Cosal and Maya love libraries."
Need some travel inspiration? This summer find a book display on Colorado places and quotes from famous authors and politicians on the importance of travel at our library. Can't go anywhere this summer? Books can transport you to other places. You can find books about the history, people, and customs of many countries in our collection.
In 2024 more than 1/2 of all Americans made a financial goal. Are you one of them? This guide has links to resources that may help you achieve your goals. If you need further assistance, don't hesitate to ask a librarian to help you find the resources you need.
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash
Our online library collection has more than academic materials. It also has articles from popular magazines and trade journals! Reading magazines and trade journals can help you relax, explore a topic, solve a problem, learn about a potential career field, and keep you informed. Here’s a guide to help you learn more about how to use our library to find magazines and trade journals that may interest you or members of your family.
Did you know that there is a Prayer and Meditation Room in the College Hill Library? This room can be used individually or in small groups. It is open to any member of the Front Range Community College community.
Photo by Jack Sharp on Unsplash
In 1775, iconoclastic historian and bestselling author Kevin Phillips punctures the myth that 1776 was the watershed year of the American Revolution. He suggests that the great events and confrontations of 1775—Congress’s belligerent economic ultimatums to Britain, New England’s rage militaire, the exodus of British troops and expulsion of royal governors up and down the seaboard, and the new provincial congresses and hundreds of local committees that quickly reconstituted local authority in Patriot hands—achieved a sweeping Patriot control of territory and local government that Britain was never able to overcome.
Rough Crossings is the astonishing story of the struggle to freedom by thousands of African-American slaves who fled the plantations to fight behind British lines in the American War of Independence. With gripping, powerfully vivid story-telling, Simon Schama follows the escaped blacks into the fires of the war, and into freezing, inhospitable Nova Scotia where many who had served the Crown were betrayed in their promises to receive land at the war's end.
"Richly illustrated with America’s historical and architectural treasures, this volume also considers the houses the Founders built with such care and money to reflect their vision for the fledgling nation. That so many great thinkers―Washington, Madison, Hamilton, Jefferson, John Jay, the Lees of Stratford Hall, and polemicist William Livingston―came together to accomplish what rightly seemed to them almost a miracle is a standing historical mystery, best understood by pondering the men themselves and their profound and world-changing ideas.”
“Whirlwind is a fast-paced and scrupulously told one-volume history of this epochal time. Balancing social and political concerns of the period and perspectives of the average American revolutionary with a careful examination of the war itself, Ferling has crafted the ideal book for armchair military history buffs, a book about the causes of the American Revolution, the war that won it, and the meaning of the Revolution overall.”
"Explores the creation of the founding documents and democratic government of the United States. Examines the debates and compromises at the Constitutional Convention, the ratification battle and the Bill of Rights, and later amendments, interpretations, and controversies. Also includes biographies, primary sources, bibliography, and index"—
The work covers the experiences of specific Native American groups such as the Abenaki, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, Delaware, Iroquois, Seminole, and Shawnee peoples with information presented by chronological period and geographic area. The first part of the book examines the effects of the Imperial Crisis of the 1760s and early 1770s on Native peoples in the Northern colonies, Southern colonies, and Ohio Valley respectively. The second section focuses on the effects of the Revolutionary War itself on these three regions during the years of ongoing conflict, and the final section concentrates on the postwar years.
“In the darkest days of the American Revolution, Francis Marion and his band of militia freedom fighters kept hope alive for the patriot cause during the critical British "southern campaign." Employing insurgent guerrilla tactics that became commonplace in later centuries, Marion and his brigade inflicted enemy losses that were individually small but cumulatively a large drain on British resources and morale. John Oller compiles striking evidence and brings together much recent learning to provide a fresh look both at Marion, the man, and how he helped save the American Revolution."
Loyalists in Revolutionary America shows us that America’s original colonies were not nearly as united behind the concept of forming free, independent states as our society’s collective memory would have us believe. There were, in fact, numerous colonists, slaves, and Native Americans who counted themselves among the Loyalists: those who never wanted to sever ties with the English crown and who viewed revolution as an unnatural and unlawful mistake.
On the night of March 5, 1770, British soldiers fired into a crowd gathered in front of Boston’s Custom House, killing five people. Denounced as an act of unprovoked violence and villainy, the event that came to be known as the Boston Massacre is one of the most familiar incidents in American history, yet one of the least understood. Eric Hinderaker revisits this dramatic episode, examining in forensic detail the facts of that fateful night, the competing narratives that molded public perceptions at the time, and the long campaign afterward to transform the tragedy into a touchstone of American identity.”
“In September 1776, the vulnerable Continental army under an unsure George Washington evacuated New York after a devastating defeat by the British army. Three weeks later, one of his favorite generals, Benedict Arnold, miraculously succeeded in postponing the British naval advance down Lake Champlain that might have lost the war. As this book ends, four years later Washington has vanquished his demons, and Arnold has fled to the enemy. America was forced at last to realize that the real threat to its liberties might not come from without but from within.”
“The American Revolution is often portrayed as a high-minded, orderly event whose capstone, the Constitution, provided the ideal framework for a democratic, prosperous nation. Alan Taylor, two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize, gives us a different creation story in this magisterial history of the nation’s founding. Taylor skillfully draws France, Spain, and native powers into a comprehensive narrative of the war that delivers the major battles, generals, and common soldiers with insight and power.”
"Benjamin Franklin's writings represent a career of literary, scientific, and political efforts which extended nearly the entire eighteenth century and the birth of the United States. This heavily illustrated version of Franklin's autobiography includes his reflections on diverse questions such as philosophy and religion, social status, electricity, American national characteristics, war, and the status of women. A classic in the American canon, Franklin's autobiography is a must-read for any serious student of American history."
Click here to see some of the new materials that we have recently added to the the FRCC Westminster Library Collection.
| Contact Us | |
|---|---|
|
|
|
|
303.404.5504 |
|
