Good to know
After citing a source the first time as a note, it is appropriate to use a shortened version of the citation when citing the same resource. If you cite citing the same source three or more times in a row, you can use Ibid. followed by page number.
Footnote/Endnote Example:
| Print Book | |
|
Footnote/Endnote Author First Name and Last Name, Title of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page #. Example: 1. Tim Mackintosh-Smith, Arabs : A 3,000-Year History of Peoples, Tribes and Empires (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2019),127. |
Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Example: Mackintosh-Smith, Tim. Arabs : A 3,000-Year History of Peoples, Tribes and Empires. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2019. |
| Print Book With Two Authors | |
|
Footnote/Endnote Author A First and Last Name and Author B First and Last Name, Title of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page #. Example: 2. Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History. 1941-1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 52. |
Bibliography Author A Last Name, Author A First Name and Author B First Name Author B Last Name, Title of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Example: Ward, Geoffrey C. and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History. 1941-1945. New York: Knopf, 2007. *Note: Only the first-listed name is inverted in bibliography entry |
| Print Book With Three Authors | |
|
Footnote/Endnote Author A First and Last Name and Author B First and Last Name and Author C First and Last Name, Title of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page #. |
Bibliography
Author A Last Name, Author A First Name and Author B First and Last Name and Author C First and Last Name. Title of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. *Note: Only the first-listed name is inverted in the bibliography entry |
| Translated Book | |
|
Footnote/Endnote Author First and Last Name, Title of Book, trans. Translators First and Last Name (Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page #. Example: 32. Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude, trans. Gregory Rabassa (New York: HarperCollins, 2003), 200. |
Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. Translated by First and Last Name. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Example: Marquez, Gabriel Garcia. One Hundred Years of Solitude. Translated by Gergorgy Rabassa. New York: HarperCollins, 2003. |
| Note: Use the abbreviations for editor "ed.", editors "eds.", and translator "trans." in endnotes. | |
| Book with Author and Editor | |
|
Footnote/Endnote Author First and Last Name, Title of Book, ed. Editor Name (Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page #. Example: 32. Edward B. Taylor, Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and Development of Civilization, ed. Paul Bohannan (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964), 100. |
Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. edited by Editor Name. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Example: Taylor, Edward B. Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and Development of Civilization. edited by Paul Bohannan. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964. |
| Chapter/Section In Edited Book | |
|
Footnote/Endnote Author First and Last Name, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book, ed. Editor Name (Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page #. Example: 32. Ibram X. Kendi "Progress," in The 1619 Project, ed. Nikole Hannah-Jones, Caitlin Roper, Ilena Silverman, and Jake Silverstein (New York: One World, 2021), 427. |
Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editor Name, page #. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Example: Kendi, Ibram X. "Progress." In The 1619 Project, edited by Nikole Hannah-Jones, Caitlin Roper, Ilena Silverman, and Jake Silverstein, 421-440. New York: One World, 2021. |
|
Print Encyclopedia and Dictionary Entry Major reference books are usually cited without any publication information and usually only in notes. Because most entries are small and do not have a specific author, you do not have to use an author name. For substantial entries such as "Egypt," it would be appropriate to cite the author like you would for a print book. |
|
|
Footnote/Endnote Basic Entry Title, Edition, s.v. "Entry Title." Example: Encyclopedia Britannica, 15 e.d., s.v. "salvation." Footnote/Endnote Longer Entry Author First and Last Name, "Title of Entry," in Title of Encyclopedia, ed. Editor Name. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication Example: 1. Tara Reddy Young, “Warhol, Andy,” In Encyclopedia of American Studies, ed. Simon Bronner, (Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2016), 109-121. |
Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editor Name, page #. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Example: Smith, Emily E. "Birds of North America." In Birds of the World, edited by Jane Williams, 210-258. New York: Random House, 2008.. |
| eBook Downloaded from Library or Bookseller | |
|
Footnote/Endnote Author First and Last Name, Title of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication), Format of Book, chapter #. Example: 27. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2008), Kindle Edition, chap. 24.
|
Bibliography Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Format of Book. Example: Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle Edition. |