Film Studies

Part of the Internet Archive, this database collects and preserves academic films across a broad range of subjects.

The American Film Institute is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to preserving the history of America's moving image.

Published by Film at Lincoln Center, this art and culture magazine features reviews and analysis of film making around the world.

Representing more than 35,000 items, Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections presents a curated selection of materials from the library's extensive holdings on motion picture history.

Part of the Internet Archive, the Moving Image Archive has digital movies that range from classic full-length films, to news, cartoons, and even concerts; most of which fall under the public domain.

The Sundance Institute is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to the discovery and development of independent filmmakers.

The National Film Registry selects 25 films each year to showcase the range and diversity of American film heritage. These public domain selections are part of an online collection.

Dedicated to the preservation, restoration, documentation, exhibition and study of motion pictures, the Academy Film Archive is home to one of the most diverse and extensive motion picture collections in the world.

British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world. Spanning the years from 1896-1978, its collections include footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science, and culture. It is an invaluable resource for broadcasters, documentary producers, museum curators, and researchers worldwide.

Collecting, preserving and providing access to Australia's audiovisual heritage.

International professional trade association representing film/audiovisual libraries, professional film researchers, producers and others working in the industry. The website provides assistance in finding footage and facilities.