Language Research Guide

Essential grammar taught simply and directly. 750 French Verbs and Their Uses gives you the backbone of language study -- correct verb usage -- by showing verb conjugations in their contexts. To understand the value of such an approach, consider the English verb "to hold," the meaning of which can change dramatically when used in expressions such as "hold on," "hold up," "hold off," and "hold down"; in French, as students of the language have perennially learned to their frustration, the changes are far broader and apply to many more verbs. Now you won't have to guess how a verb is used in a sentence: 750 French Verbs and Their Uses gives you all the correct variations and grammatical interrelationships. Correct usages are illustrated in common phrases and idiomatic expressions. Unusual or troublesome expressions are emphasized throughout. And special attention is given to reflexive verbs (often difficult for English speakers) to make their usage clear. Perfect for students and travelers, ideal as a text, a grammar book and a reference, 750 French Verbs and Their Uses will help you not only to conjugate verbs, but also to use them correctly and comprehensibly. Series Editors: Jan R. Zamir, PhD, and Sonia Zamir, MA Also available in the series: 750 German Verbs and Their Uses and 750 Spanish Verbs and Their Uses.

A good grasp of grammar enables the foreign-language learner to build skill and confidence in communication. This book explains each grammatical concept and illustrates sentence examples. It also includes culture notes, documents, vocabulary boxes, and verb charts, as well as a full answer key and index.

The new, updated edition of this popular book of French verbs and general language guide is now printed in two colors for increased ease of reference. The most important and most commonly used French verbs are presented alphabetically in chart form, one verb per page, and conjugated in all persons and tenses, both active and passive. This thorough guide to the use of verbs features many additional references and tips, including a bilingual list of more than 1,250 additional French verbs, helpful expressions and idioms for travelers, and verb drills and tests with questions answered and explained. French language students will also find an index of English-French verbs, a section on verbs used in French idiomatic expressions, and more than 1,000 additional French regular verbs conjugated like the book's model verbs.

This is an introductory French grammar with an innovative approach -- "grammar at a glance" -- in a visually striking and easy-to-understand tabular presentation. The upbeat style features humorous cartoons and lively examples from French newspapers and publications. Includes exercises and answer key. Avoids laborious explanations and jargon.

This guide to French provides idiot-proof steps for fast learning. Included are easy lessons on idioms and slang used by native speakers and common phrases to use when you travel.

Increases learners' knowledge of and ability to use up-to-date vocabulary Takes readers' existing knowledge and builds on it systematically and organically. Covers topics such as work, travel and accommodation, and food and drink. 30 minutes of free audio download on how to learn vocabulary more effectively. Noel Saint-Thomas (Edinburgh, Scotland) was born and educated in France. She now teaches French to adults in Scotland.

Treasury of poems and prose extracts by 10 great poets: Max Jacob, Leon-Paul Fargue, Jules Supervielle, Saint-John Perse, Jean Cocteau, Andr#65533; Breton, Paul #65533;luard, Robert Desnos, Henri Michaux and Pierre Emmanuel. Excellent English translations on facing pages plus introduction to modern French poetry and introduction and bibliography for each poet.

Instead of the dying Old Regime, Schama presents an ebullient country, vital and inventive, infatuated with novelty and technology -- a strikingly fresh view of Louis XVI's France. ANew York Timesbestseller in hardcover. 200 illustrations. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Foreword by Robert Rosenblum. Preface by Andr*e Putman. French Style captures the celebrated art de vivre of the contemporary French life-style. 450 full-color photographs.

The lyric art song, in which the piano plays as large a part as the vocal melody, is one of the characteristic products of the nineteenth century. These 39 French art songs, with complete vocals and accompaniments, original words, and English singing translations, constitute a well-chosen, representative collection from the ever-popular Romantic period. Much of this material is not available elsewhere. French Art Songs includes works by the following composers: Hector Berlioz, Georges Bizet, C#65533;cil Chaminade, Ernest Chausson, Claude Debussy (six songs), L#65533;o Delibes, Henri Duparc, Gabriel Faur#65533;, C#65533;sar Franck, Benjamin Godard, Charles Gounod, Reynaldo Hahn, Vincent d'Indy, Jules Massenet, Gabriel Piern#65533;, Camille Saint-Sa#65533;ns, Ambroise Thomas, and Charles-Marie Widor. The songs range from Berlioz's "Villanelle," composed about 1835, to d'Indy's "Lied maritime" (1896). Bizet's "Pastorale," Debussy's "Harmonie du soir," Delibes's "Les filles de Cadiz," Faur#65533;'s "Clair de lune," and Massenet's "Ouvre tes yeux bleux" are just some of the well-known pieces included in this collection. Chosen by Philip Hale, an important turn-of-the-century American music critic, this superb selection of art songs provides unusual material for any performing soprano or tenor and accompanist as well as amateur singers and players. And many of the relatively simple but beautiful works in this well-edited and clearly printed edition are ideally suited for beginning voice students.

The outstanding collection of French old master drawings held in Washington's National Gallery of Art, represents in remarkable richness and breadth the history of French draftsmanship before 1800. Showcasing for the first time the heart of this outstanding body of work, Renaissance to Revolution celebrates the singular originality, elegance and spirit of French draftsmanship.

With its lively narrative and profuse illustrations, this volume captures thevisual riches of a remarkable era. 241 full-color illustrations.

Exploring the issue of rights and citizenship, Revolutionary France, French Revolution and Human Rights uses original translations and commentary of both debates and legislation that led to the French development of the modern concept of human rights.

The period between the two world wars was one of extreme upheavals in politics, economics and society as a whole. It was also a time of intense artistic creativity, culminating in the great Paris Exposition des Arts Decoratifs et Industriels Modernes in 1925, and the subsequent spread of the celebrated Art Deco style. The radical innovations in Art Deco fashion and interior decoration demanded new textile designs, and, as the period progressed, fabrics for clothes, upholstery wallpaper and rugs increasingly reflected the modernism, elegance and vibrancy of the movement. As the French artist Raoul Dufy, himself a brilliant fabric designer, wrote, 'Paintings have spilled from their frames and stained our dress and our walls.' This sumptuous new book invest the reader to discover the spectacular world of French Art Deco fabrics, with examples by designers such as Delaunay, Ruhlmann, Henry, Marrot, Dufresne, Benedictus, and dozens more. Alain-Rene Hardy, a noted French expert in 20th-century decorative arts, has searched through museum holdings, manufacturers' archives and private collections to find hundreds of examples of both hand- and machine-made textiles, many of them never befor

A thirty-year career has made Jacques Garcia a worldwide name in interior design in the French tradition. In Paris, chic crowds flock to his celebrated Hétel Costes and Ladurée tearoom, and to his many fin-de-siécle brasseries. Garcia's designs also grace the interiors of the Musée Carnavalet and the Musée de la Vie Romantique-and his most recent tour de force is the restoration of Paris' Hétel Mansart. Garcia's most ambitious project to date, the refurbishment of the Chéteau du Champ de Bataille in Normandy, attracts visitors from across the globe and has become a monument to his art and celebrity. This new edition of the 1999 book is a continuing tribute to the restoration of the chéteau and to its magnificent garderns, seen here for the first time. Sumptuously illustrated and updated to include Garcia's latest creations, this new edition provides the reader with a privileged view of true French style.

Stafford Cliff is Creative Director of the Conran Design Group.

In 1940, France fell to the Nazis and almost immediately the German army began a campaign of pillaging one of the assets the French hold most dear: their wine. Like others in the French Resistance, winemakers mobilized to oppose their occupiers, but the tale of their extraordinary efforts has remained largely unknown—until now. Wine and War tells the alternately thrilling and harrowing story of the French wine producers who undertook ingenious, daring measures to save their cherished crops and bottles as the Germans closed in on them. By rooting the narrative in the stories of five prominent winemaking families from France's key wine-producing regions of Burgundy, Alsace, the Loire Valley, Bordeaux, and Champagne, journalists Don and Petie Kladstrup vividly illustrate how men and women risked their lives for a cause that meant saving the heart and soul of France as much as protecting its economy. It was a extraordinary partnership involving everyone from the owners of Paris's famed restaurant La Tour d'Argent who rushed to build a wall to conceal their most precious twenty thousand bottles, to French soldiers who triumphantly reclaimed Hitler's enormous cache of stolen wines at the conclusion of the war. Wine and War portrays the central role wine has long played in France’s military campaigns—how Napoleon ordered wagon loads of champagne to sustain the morale of his armies and how, during World War I, huge quantites of wine were shipped to soldiers in the trenches of Northern France. By the beginning of World War II, wine represented a living for nearly 20 percent of France's population and the authors chronicle the Nazis' determination to seize control of the French wine industry and its profits. At the same time, Wine and War brings to light the resourcefulness of wine producers who employed spiderwebs to "age" false walls hiding their best wines, who foisted off their worst bottles on the Germans or gleefully misdirected shipments, sending champagne to Homburg instead of Hamburg, and who sabotaged trains transporting wine to Germany. It also recounts the heroics of winemakers who hid Jewish refugees and smuggled members of the Resistance across the Demarcation Line in wine barrels, as well as the villainy of collaborators who worked with Nazi occupiers for their own benefit. Finally, Wine and War reveals that the French were not alone in trying to save their wine. They received help from unexpected quarters: the German weinfuhrers, the very men the Nazis sent to requisition wine, whose close ties to the French wine industry mitigated their actions, and even the collaborationist Vichy regime, which recognized the importance of keeping France's vineyards French, and prevented the Nazis from seizing the Jewish-owned Chateaux Mouton-Rothschild and Lafite-Rothschild. Based on three years of research and interviews with the survivors who engaged in this epic enterprise, Wine and War illuminates a compelling, little-known chapter of history, and stands as a tribute to extraordinary individuals who waged a battle that, in a very real way, saved the spirit of France.