Research Databases
You conduct research by finding reputable, reliable, and scholarly sources to answer your research question. Most of the time, these sources are available in library databases. Here are some databases to try out:
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text versions of thousands of publications, including academic titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and video.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Full text collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals. Also includes tools such as Evidenced-Based Care sheets, quick lessons and more.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics, covering all key areas of health and wellness, including mainstream and holistic medicine.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This all subjects resource includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window Collection of open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Human anatomy comes to life as you zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3D models. View related reference articles and search Gale content to learn more.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health journals, books and reference content, this platform uniquely supports an uninterrupted workflow so researchers move seamlessly among books and journals and across topics and disciplines.
This list is only a small amount of all the awesome databases available to you! If you'd like more, go to the A-Z Databases.
Evidence-Based Practice
Learning how to research is especially important so that you can use evidence-based practice when you are in the field.
"Evidence-based practice in nursing involves providing holistic, quality care based on the most up-to-date research and knowledge rather than traditional methods, advice from colleagues, or personal beliefs" (ANA).
Learn more: ANA Website
More about Research
Research is:
- Asking questions and investigating that topic to learn more about it.
- A cycle. As we move through the stages of the research process we may have to repeat steps we completed earlier.
- Fun! Especially if you choose a topic that interests you and allow yourself the needed time to research, write, and cite.
Learn more on the How to Research module in the Library Classroom.
Dental Journals Available Online
- Clinical Advances in Periodontics Click on the links below "Full Text Access" to access the journal.
- Journal of Dental Education Click on the links below "Full Text Access" to access the journal.
- Journal of Periodontology Click on the links below "Full Text Access" to access the journal.
Need Research Help?
Click below to Book a Librarian through Navigate!
Ask a Librarian
