Databases Available
These databases are reputable and scholarly with many relevant resources specific to wavelength and plant growth research.
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window Contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Provides a complete collection of resources to support research and learning in environmental sciences, such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
- Science Database This link opens in a new window This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health journals, books and reference content, this platform uniquely supports an uninterrupted workflow so researchers move seamlessly among books and journals and across topics and disciplines.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
This list is only a small amount of all the awesome databases available to you! If you'd like more, go to the A-Z Databases.
Assignment Templates
Presentation from Class
How Primary Literature Informs Experiments
"Primary sources (or primary research) presents the immediate results of original research activities and/or new scientific discoveries. It often includes hypotheses, experiments, analysis of data collected in the field or laboratory and a conclusion. Primary sources are original materials/information on which other research is based."
From “Primary Sources.” Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences, libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=986651. Accessed 6 June 2023.
Primary sources are helpful when you are designing your own experiments because they show you what has been done, how it has been achieved, data collected, conclusions that were drawn, and, most importantly, changes for future experiments and research. Building off of primary literature helps you to design a strong experiment, focus on relevant data, and fill in missing gaps from previous experiments.