References
Notes and Bibliography
When using the NB system, you should include a note (called "footnotes") each time you use a source. Footnotes will be added at the end of the page on which the source is referenced and a bibliography will be compiled at the end of the entire research paper. These citations need to be numbered by the order they are cited. This reference list will be the last page of your paper, titled Bibliography. For the citation styles on different resources check here!
Example Notes Note: Make sure that each note has a half-inch indent (as seen below).
Journals: 1. Author's first name Author's last name, "Title of the Article," Name of
Publication volume (Year): page #.
Books: 4. Author's first and last name, Title of the Book (Location: Publisher,
Year), Page number.
Example Citation​ in Bibliography Note: Make sure that each note has a half-inch hanging indent (as seen below).
Journals: Author's last name, Author's first name. "Title of the Article." Name of
Publication volume (Year): pages.
Books: Author's last name, Author's first name. Title of the Book. Location:
Publisher, Year.
Bibliography
The bibliographic form differs from notes in these ways:
- Sources are alphabetized. The author’s last name appears first (Smith, Betty) in a bibliography.
- While notes use commas and parentheses to separate items, a bibliography uses periods.
- While notes use two spaces after a period, a bibliography uses only one space after a period.
- While notes usually indicate specific pages from which you took information; a bibliography lists entire books or a complete chapter to which you referred.
Source: Purdue OWL
Author-Date
When using the Author-Date style, you will create a reference list that is similar to those used in APA format, noting the author’s last name, year of publication, as well as the page number(s) from which you’re citing. This reference list will be that last page of your paper, titled References. For the citation styles on different resources check here!
Example Citations Note: Make sure that each note has a half-inch hanging indent (as seen below).
Journals: Author's last name, Author's first name. "Title of the Article." Name of
Publication volume (Year): pages.
Books: Author's last name, Author's first name. Title of the Book. Location:
Publisher, Year.
Chicago Handbook Available in the PCC Library
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Course Reserves - In Library Use OnlyISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05
RefWorks
You can use a tool called RefWorks to help manage your research and citations. Learn more in the Citing and Copyright module in the Library Classroom.
Need Citation Help?
You can work with a Writing Pro on citations, formatting and editing your paper, and more! Login to Navigate to book a tutor or...
Chicago/Turabian Style
The Chicago/Turabian style is often used by people in history fields. Always check with your professor on what citation style they would like you to use.
When writing, document all information and ideas gained from outside sources. You do this to
• credit your sources and avoid plagiarism,
• support your arguments with information from experts in the field, and
• share source materials with readers.
Your essay should be typed, double-spaced on standard-sized paper (8.5" x 11") with 1" margins on all sides. Use a clear font that is highly readable; 12 pt. Times New Roman font is recommended.
Text should be consistently double-spaced, with the following exceptions:
• Block quotations, table titles, and figure captions should be single-spaced.
• A prose quotation of five or more lines should be blocked.
• A blocked quotation does not get enclosed in quotation marks.
• An extra line space should immediately precede and follow a blocked quotation.
• Blocked quotations should be indented .5” as a whole.
• Notes and bibliographies should be singled-spaced internally; however, leave an extra line space between note and bibliographic entries.
• Page numbers begin in the header of the first page of text with Arabic number 1.
• Subheadings should be used for longer papers.
In-text Citations
Notes and Bibliography
When using Notes and Bibliography, an in-text citation takes the form of a superscript number. This superscript number must correspond to a note with the bibliographic information for that source should be placed in the text following the end of the sentence or clause in which the source is referenced. An example of this is shown below.
In text: Shields describes the 1950's New York art scene as "tailor-made for socializing."¹
Note: 1. Charles Shields, Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee (New York: Henry Holt, 2006), 21.
Author-Date
If you use the author’s name in the sentence, but the year of the publication in parentheses (year) after the author’s name and the page numbers you’re referencing in parentheses at the end of the relevant sentence or phrase in parentheses (page number/page range):
- Sara Lindberg (2008) argues that gender identity plays a role in human development (24).
- Sara Lindberg (2008) argues that gender identity plays a role in human development (37-39), and Myra Marx Ferree (2015) has argued that gender affects everything from individuals to institutions (36).
If you do not use the author's name in the sentence, put the author's last name year, and page numbers in parentheses (Last name year, page #).
- Although gender identity certainly plays a role in human development (Lindberg 2008, 24), it affects all individuals and institutions within society (Ferree 2015, 36).
Adapted from The University of Wisconsin-Madison.