Databases
You conduct research by finding reputable, reliable, and scholarly sources to answer your research question. Most of the time, these sources are available in library databases. Databases contain images, journal articles, newspapers, and more! Here are some databases to try out:
- Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 237,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text versions of thousands of publications, including academic titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and video.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This all subjects resource includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Curated videos spanning a wide variety of subjects. Videos include content from leading sources such as PBS, the BBC, ABC News, HBO and more.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. Newsstream includes recent U.S. news sources, like New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. Includes Fort Collins Coloradoan.
These databases are specifically designed to help you research for argumentative papers, especially on current issues and topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This resource covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). It also includes academic journals, newspapers, magazines and more.
This list is only a small amount of all the awesome art databases available to you! If you'd like more, go to the A-Z Databases.
Print Resources
For books that are helpful specifically to your argumentative and pro/con research, make sure to hover over the ENG 1021 tab and click on "Print Books for Research".
To search the PCC Library’s online catalog for print materials, visit www.pueblocc.edu/library
Type in your chosen topic in the Print Materials field at the top of the page:
Contact library staff if you cannot locate desired print materials.
Need Research Help?
Click below to Book a Librarian through Navigate!
Ask a Librarian
