What is Research?
You conduct research by finding reputable, reliable, and scholarly sources to answer your research question. Most of the time, these sources are available in library databases. Below are library databases and open source scholarly sources to explore.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Great starting point for most academic assignments because it covers so many topics. Includes a variety of publication types, like academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and video.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia-like resource to explore research topics and multiple perspectives (pro/con). Filter by article length or resource type (opinion articles, videos, photographs, and maps).
-
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window Articles, documents, images, and videos on U.S. and world history. Great for history assignments and primary source research.
-
U.S. History (Gale) This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia-like resource with background information, academic articles, magazine coverage, photos, and videos on hundreds of significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history.
-
World History (Gale) This link opens in a new window Articles, primary sources, and reference materials on global history. Useful for assignments in history, humanities, and cultural studies.
-
Research Library This link opens in a new window Search all ProQuest scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines A good option to find sources for almost any class.
-
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This website, focused on Black Freedom, features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American History.
-
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes 665+ newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 up to 2022. This website is a service of the Colorado State Library.
-
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Search Everything (searches all of CCCS databases at once) Enter S number at prompt
This list is a short sampling of the awesome databases available to you!
To see more, go to A-Z Databases on the PCC Library's homepage.
Need Research Help?
Click below to Book a Librarian through Navigate!
Ask a Librarian
More about Research
Research is:
- Asking questions and investigating that topic to learn more about it.
- A cycle. As we move through the stages of the research process we may have to repeat steps we completed earlier.
- Fun! Especially if you choose a topic that interests you and allow yourself the needed time to research, write, and cite.
Learn more on the How to Research module in the Library Classroom.