LibGuides: Science Resources: Research Help

What is Research?

You conduct research by finding reputable, reliable, and scholarly sources to answer your research question. Most of the time, these sources are available in library databases. Here are some databases to try out:

Search Everything

Agriculture Science Database This link opens in a new window This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. Offers the complete text as well as complete images from major journals in the field.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This all subjects resource includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps. 
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window Contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Science Database This link opens in a new window This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health journals, books and reference content, this platform uniquely supports an uninterrupted workflow so researchers move seamlessly among books and journals and across topics and disciplines.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.

This list is only a small amount of all the awesome databases available to you! If you'd like more, go to the A-Z Databases.

More about Research

Research is:

Asking questions and investigating that topic to learn more about it.
A cycle. As we move through the stages of the research process we may have to repeat steps we completed earlier.
Fun! Especially if you choose a topic that interests you and allow yourself the needed time to research, write, and cite.

Learn more on the How to Research module in the Library Classroom.

Need Research Help?

Scan the QR code below to Book a Librarian through Navigate!

Or click here: Book a Librarian

Science Resources: Research Help

What is Research?

More about Research

Need Research Help?

Ask a Librarian