PCC Library's Next Chapter - Humanities Edition - LibGuides at Colorado Community College System

Finals Prep Starts Now!

11/03/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

Art, Communication, English Comp & Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Sociology

Don’t procrastinate on finals! Use these quick tips to prepare now:

Get comfortable with searching for scholarly sources through Search Everything and our Databases A to Z.
Writing a paper? Set up your RefWorks account so you can save every citation in one place, then generate the full references list when you’re ready.
Want help with research? Book a Librarian or Ask a Librarian. You can use these as many times as you need!
Need quiet to take a test or study? Book a Study Room.
Dive into your subject-specific Resource Guide on the Library Classroom in MyCourses. Everything you need for papers, research, and more is on that one site.

How to Find Scholarly Sources Fast

Go to the Library Homepage
Click “Databases A to Z”
Choose:
1. J for JSTOR: great for literature, art, history, and more
2. P for Poetry & Short Story Reference Source: perfect for literary analysis
3. R for Religion & Philosophy Collection: for ethics, world religions, and philosophy
Use search terms like this:
1. "American Revolution" AND women
2. "Emily Dickinson" AND imagery
Filter results for Full Text and check if the article is from a scholarly journal.

These databases are built for deep, critical topics and contain reliable, instructor-approved sources.

This post has no comments.

Books We're Thankful For

11/03/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

No Subjects

Overcoming Math Anxiety by Sheila Tobias

“This book helped me to realize that I have been using math successfully throughout my life and that I am capable of passing a math class.”

Available in our Skills for College & Careers collection!

Pale Blue Dot by Carl Sagan

“This book perfectly showcases the massive universe and our tiny place within it.”

Available in our Stacks collection!

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

“A timeless classic love story.”

Available in our Arts & Literature collection!

The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Andrews

“This book is the only book that brings back the feeling of childhood magic.”

This post has no comments.

Upcoming Events

11/03/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

All Subjects

Upcoming Events
Find all upcoming events on our website!

November
DINOvember Exhibit
November 1-30, 8am-5pm

DINOvember Family Fridays
November 7, 14 & 21, 3pm-5pm

December
Tea Library
December 1-5, 8am-5pm

Last-Minute Librarian
December 1-5, 9am-10am, 1pm-2pm
M,W,F in Student Center
T,Th in AB Commons

This post has no comments.

Primary Sources at Your Fingertips

11/03/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

Communication, English Comp & Literature, History, Philosophy & Ethics

Need firsthand accounts for your research? Primary sources are original materials like diaries, letters, photographs, speeches, and historical newspapers that were created during the time you’re studying. They let you see events, people, and ideas through the eyes of those who experienced them.

You can explore primary sources in many of our databases, including Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection, Ethnic Diversity Source, History Reference Center, JSTOR, and Points of View Reference Center.

Not sure where to start? Ask a librarian and we’ll help you find the perfect source for your project!

This post has no comments.

New Books at the PCC Library

08/18/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

Art, English Comp & Literature, History, Philosophy & Ethics

We have tons of new books!

Come visit the PCC Library to see our brand new books. Don't know where to start? Ask us!

New books include:

Cover Art A Better Ape by Victor Kumar; Richmond Campbell Humans are moral creatures. Among all life on Earth, we alone experience rich moral emotions, follow complex rules governing how we treat one another, and engage in moral dialogue. But how did human morality evolve? And can humans become morally evolved?In A Better Ape, Victor Kumar and Richmond Campbell draw on the latest research in the biological and social sciences to explain the key role that morality has played in human evolution. They explore the moral traits that humans share with chimpanzees; how a more complex moral mind enabled Homo sapiens to arise and out-compete other human species; and the place of morality alongside historic revolutions in technology and social organization. Throughout the book, Kumar and Campbell argue that morality co-evolved with intelligence and complex sociality. Morality prevents societal collapse and enables complex knowledge.After unearthing the ancient origins of human morality, Kumar and Campbell use evolutionary theory to deliver profound insights about how to advance moral progress and resist moral regress, such as reducing animal suffering on industrial farms; capitalizing on the recent revolution in gay rights to foster a nascent revolution in transgender rights; opposing intersectional inequality that impacts women and people of color in lower socioeconomic classes; and addressing major problems of global inequality, especially impending crises of injustice caused by anthropogenic climate change. Understanding how we evolved - and how we continue to evolve - can help us become a better ape.

Call Number: BJ1311.K86 2022

ISBN: 9780197600122

Cover Art The Anxious Generation by Jonathan Haidt THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A Wall Street Journal Top 10 Book of 2024 * A New York Times and Washington Post Notable Book * One of Barack Obama's Favorite Books of 2024 * A TIME 100 Must-Read Book of 2024 * Named a Best Book of 2024 by the Economist, the New York Post, and Town & Country * The Goodreads Choice Award Nonfiction Book of the Year * Finalist for the PEN Literary Awards A must-read for all parents: the generation-defining investigation into the collapse of youth mental health in the era of smartphones, social media, and big tech--and a plan for a healthier, freer childhood. "With tenacity and candor, Haidt lays out the consequences that have come with allowing kids to drift further into the virtual world . . . While also offering suggestions and solutions that could help protect a new generation of kids." --Shannon Carlin, TIME, 100 Must-Read Books of 2024 After more than a decade of stability or improvement, the mental health of adolescents plunged in the early 2010s. Rates of depression, anxiety, self-harm, and suicide rose sharply, more than doubling on many measures. Why? In The Anxious Generation, social psychologist Jonathan Haidt lays out the facts about the epidemic of teen mental illness that hit many countries at the same time. He then investigates the nature of childhood, including why children need play and independent exploration to mature into competent, thriving adults. Haidt shows how the "play-based childhood" began to decline in the 1980s, and how it was finally wiped out by the arrival of the "phone-based childhood" in the early 2010s. He presents more than a dozen mechanisms by which this "great rewiring of childhood" has interfered with children's social and neurological development, covering everything from sleep deprivation to attention fragmentation, addiction, loneliness, social contagion, social comparison, and perfectionism. He explains why social media damages girls more than boys and why boys have been withdrawing from the real world into the virtual world, with disastrous consequences for themselves, their families, and their societies. Most important, Haidt issues a clear call to action. He diagnoses the "collective action problems" that trap us, and then proposes four simple rules that might set us free. He describes steps that parents, teachers, schools, tech companies, and governments can take to end the epidemic of mental illness and restore a more humane childhood. Haidt has spent his career speaking truth backed by data in the most difficult landscapes--communities polarized by politics and religion, campuses battling culture wars, and now the public health emergency faced by Gen Z. We cannot afford to ignore his findings about protecting our children--and ourselves--from the psychological damage of a phone-based life.

Call Number: HQ792.U5 H23 2024

ISBN: 9780593655030

Cover Art Art History: a Very Short Introduction by Dana Arnold This clear and concise new introduction examines all the major debates and issues using a wide range of well-known examples. It discusses the challenge of using verbal and written language to analyse a visual form. Dana Arnold also examines the many different ways of writing about art, and the changing boundaries of the subject of art history. Topics covered include the canon of Art History, the role of the gallery, 'blockbuster' exhibitions, the emergence of social histories of art (Feminist Art History or Queer Art History, for example), the impact of photography, and the development of Art History using artefacts such as the altarpiece, the portrait, or pornography, to explore social and cultural issues such as consumption, taste, religion, and politics. Importantly, this book explains how the traditional emphasis on periods and styles originates in western art production and can obscure other critical approaches, as well as art from non western cultures.

Call Number: N7425.A646 2004

ISBN: 0192801813

Cover Art Adult Social Care Law and Policy by Jean V. McHale; Laura Noszlopy Available Open Access digitally under CC-BY-NC-ND licence. This book provides an in-depth sociolegal examination of adult social care law and policy during the COVID-19 pandemic. It explores the tensions between legislation, policy, and practice in what was already an under-resourced and overstretched sector. The authors interrogate the vision and utility of the Care Act 2014 and explore the impact of emergency legislation and operational changes implemented during the pandemic. Detailing what happened to social care provision during this time of intense stress and turbulence - for people who draw on services, for informal carers, and for those who work in the sector - the book highlights fault lines in the system. This is an invaluable resource offering timely lessons for adult social care reform and future pandemic preparedness planning.

Call Number: KD732.M34 2025

ISBN: 9781529229882

Cover Art Elizabeth Barrett Browning by Elizabeth Barrett Browning 'How do I love thee? Let me count the ways' Elizabeth Barrett Browning was a poet of passion, wit and conscience. She was also a woman who wrote to speak the truth about everything she knew - and she knew just what it was like to be a thinking woman in a society that wanted women to be weak. The eldest of twelve children, she wrote poetry from the age of eleven, and became a highly successful poet in her lifetime - and remains very much loved today. She was also a strong advocate for human rights, campaigning to abolish slavery and child labour, and her three-part poem A Curse for a Nation is a powerful polemic against the slave trade. 'I heard an angel speak last night, and he said "write! Write a nation's curse for me, and send it over the western sea" '

Call Number: PR4182.G73 2023

ISBN: 9781399614085

Cover Art Language City by Ross Perlin From the co-director of the Endangered Language Alliance, a captivating portrait of contemporary New York City through six speakers of little-known and overlooked languages, diving into the incredible history of the most linguistically diverse place ever to have existed on the planet Half of all 7,000-plus human languages may disappear over the next century and--because many have never been recorded--when they're gone, it will be forever. Ross Perlin, a linguist and co-director of the Manhattan-based non-profit Endangered Language Alliance, is racing against time to map little-known languages across the most linguistically diverse city in history: contemporary New York. In Language City, Perlin recounts the unique history of immigration that shaped the city, and follows six remarkable yet ordinary speakers of endangered languages deep into their communities to learn how they are maintaining and reviving their languages against overwhelming odds. Perlin also dives deep into their languages, taking us on a fascinating tour of unusual grammars, rare sounds, and powerful cultural histories from all around the world. Seke is spoken by 700 people from five ancestral villages in Nepal, a hundred of whom have lived in a single Brooklyn apartment building. N'ko is a radical new West African writing system now going global in Harlem and the Bronx. After centuries of colonization and displacement, Lenape, the city's original Indigenous language and the source of the name Manhattan ("the place where we get bows"), has just one fluent native speaker, bolstered by a small band of revivalists. Also profiled in the book are speakers of the Indigenous Mexican language Nahuatl, the Central Asian minority language Wakhi, and the former lingua franca of the Lower East Side, Yiddish. A century after the anti-immigration Johnson-Reed Act closed America's doors for decades and on the 400th anniversary of New York's colonial founding, Perlin raises the alarm about growing political threats and the onslaught of "killer languages" like English and Spanish. Both remarkable social history and testament to the importance of linguistic diversity, Language City is a joyful and illuminating exploration of a city and the world that made it.

Call Number: P40.5.L562 U674 2024

ISBN: 9780802162465

Cover Art Liberty Is Sweet by Woody Holton A "deeply researched and bracing retelling" (Annette Gordon-Reed, Pulitzer Prize-winning historian) of the American Revolution, showing how the Founders were influenced by overlooked Americans--women, Native Americans, African Americans, and religious dissenters. Using more than a thousand eyewitness records, Liberty Is Sweet is a "spirited account" (Gordon S. Wood, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Radicalism of the American Revolution) that explores countless connections between the Patriots of 1776 and other Americans whose passion for freedom often brought them into conflict with the Founding Fathers. "It is all one story," prizewinning historian Woody Holton writes. Holton describes the origins and crucial battles of the Revolution from Lexington and Concord to the British surrender at Yorktown, always focusing on marginalized Americans--enslaved Africans and African Americans, Native Americans, women, and dissenters--and on overlooked factors such as weather, North America's unique geography, chance, misperception, attempts to manipulate public opinion, and (most of all) disease. Thousands of enslaved Americans exploited the chaos of war to obtain their own freedom, while others were given away as enlistment bounties to whites. Women provided material support for the troops, sewing clothes for soldiers and in some cases taking part in the fighting. Both sides courted native people and mimicked their tactics. Liberty Is Sweet is a "must-read book for understanding the founding of our nation" (Walter Isaacson, author of Benjamin Franklin), from its origins on the frontiers and in the Atlantic ports to the creation of the Constitution. Offering surprises at every turn--for example, Holton makes a convincing case that Britain never had a chance of winning the war--this majestic history revivifies a story we thought we already knew.

Call Number: E209.H655 2022

ISBN: 9781476750385

Cover Art The Literature Book by DK Learn about the greatest works of literature, and the lives of those who wrote them in The Literature Book. Part of the fascinating Big Ideas series, this book tackles tricky topics and themes in a simple and easy to follow format. Learn about Literature in this overview guide to the subject, great for beginners looking to learn and experts wishing to refresh their knowledge alike! The Literature Book brings a fresh and vibrant take on the topic through eye-catching graphics and diagrams to immerse yourself in. This captivating book will broaden your understanding of Literature, with: - More than 100 ground-breaking ideas on major literary works - Packed with facts, charts, timelines and graphs to help explain core concepts - A visual approach to big subjects with striking illustrations and graphics throughout - Easy to follow text makes topics accessible for people at any level of understanding The Literature Book is the perfect introduction to masterpieces from the world's greatest authors, aimed at adults with an interest in the subject, and literature students wanting to gain more of an overview. Here you'll discover more than 100 articles exploring landmark novels, short stories, plays, and poetry that reinvented the art of writing in their time. Your Literature Questions, Simply Explained From the Iliad to The Great Gatsby, embark on a fascinating, graphic-led journey through the greatest works of poetry and prose. If you thought it was difficult to learn about the fictional masterpieces of our time and the literary geniuses behind them, The Literature Book presents key information in an easy to follow layout. From Modernism to Shakespearean, Realism to Romanticism, discover the literary movements through fantastic mind maps and step-by-step summaries. The Big Ideas Series With millions of copies sold worldwide, The Literature Book is part of the award-winning Big Ideas series from DK. The series uses striking graphics along with engaging writing, making big topics easy to understand.

Call Number: PN45.L4945 2016

ISBN: 9781465429889

Cover Art Nexus by Yuval Noah Harari #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the author of Sapiens comes the groundbreaking story of how information networks have made, and unmade, our world. "Strikingly original . . . A historian whose arguments operate on the scale of millennia has managed to capture the zeitgeist perfectly."--The Economist "This deeply important book comes at a critical time as we all think through the implications of AI and automated content production. . . . Masterful and provocative."--Mustafa Suleyman, author of The Coming Wave For the last 100,000 years, we Sapiens have accumulated enormous power. But despite all our discoveries, inventions, and conquests, we now find ourselves in an existential crisis. The world is on the verge of ecological collapse. Misinformation abounds. And we are rushing headlong into the age of AI--a new information network that threatens to annihilate us. For all that we have accomplished, why are we so self-destructive? Nexus looks through the long lens of human history to consider how the flow of information has shaped us, and our world. Taking us from the Stone Age, through the canonization of the Bible, early modern witch-hunts, Stalinism, Nazism, and the resurgence of populism today, Yuval Noah Harari asks us to consider the complex relationship between information and truth, bureaucracy and mythology, wisdom and power. He explores how different societies and political systems throughout history have wielded information to achieve their goals, for good and ill. And he addresses the urgent choices we face as non-human intelligence threatens our very existence. Information is not the raw material of truth; neither is it a mere weapon. Nexus explores the hopeful middle ground between these extremes, and in doing so, rediscovers our shared humanity.

Call Number: ZA3075.H375 2024

ISBN: 9780593734223

Cover Art Night Flyer by Tiya Miles; Henry Louis Gates (Series edited by) Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Biography * A Washington Post Notable Book * Finalist for the PEN America Literary Award *One of Smithsonian Magazine's Ten Best History Books of the Year * One of AAIHS's Best Black History Books of 2024 "Though broad strokes of Tubman's story are widely known, Miles probes deeper, examining her inner life, faith and relationships with other enslaved Black women to paint a deeper, more vibrant portrait of a historical figure whose mythic status can sometimes overshadow her humanity." -The New York Times From the National Book Award-winning author of All That She Carried, an intimate and revelatory reckoning with the myth and the truth behind an American everyone knows and few really understand Harriet Tubman is among the most famous Americans ever born and soon to be the face of the twenty-dollar bill. Yet often she's a figure more out of myth than history, almost a comic-book superhero. Despite being barely five feet tall, unable to read, and suffering from a brain injury, she managed to escape from her own enslavement, return again and again to lead others north to freedom without loss of life, speak out powerfully against slavery, and then become the first American woman in history to lead a military raid, freeing some seven hundred people. You could almost say she's America's Robin Hood, a miraculous vision, often rightly celebrated but seldom understood. Tiya Miles's extraordinary Night Flyer changes all that. With her characteristic tenderness and imaginative genius, Miles explores beyond the stock historical grid to weave Tubman's life into the fabric of her world. She probes the ecological reality of Tubman's surroundings and examines her kinship with other enslaved women who similarly passed through a spiritual wilderness and recorded those travels in profound and moving memoirs. What emerges, uncannily, is a human being whose mysticism becomes more palpable the more we understand it--a story that offers us powerful inspiration for our own time of troubles. Harriet Tubman traversed many boundaries, inner and outer. Now, thanks to Tiya Miles, she becomes an even clearer and sharper signal from the past, one that can help us to echolocate a more just and sustainable path.

Call Number: E444.T82 M55 2024

ISBN: 9780593491164

Cover Art Opium's Orphans by P. E. Caquet

Call Number: HV5801 .C335 2022

ISBN: 9781789145588

Cover Art A Philosophy of Beauty by Michael B. Gill An engaging account of how Shaftesbury revolutionized Western philosophy At the turn of the eighteenth century, Anthony Ashley Cooper, the third Earl of Shaftesbury (1671-1713), developed the first comprehensive philosophy of beauty to be written in English. It revolutionized Western philosophy. In A Philosophy of Beauty, Michael Gill presents an engaging account of how Shaftesbury's thought profoundly shaped modern ideas of nature, religion, morality, and art--and why, despite its long neglect, it remains compelling today. Before Shaftesbury's magnum opus, Charactersticks of Men, Manners, Opinions, Times (1711), it was common to see wilderness as ugly, to associate religion with fear and morality with unpleasant restriction, and to dismiss art as trivial or even corrupting. But Shaftesbury argued that nature, religion, virtue, and art can all be truly beautiful, and that cherishing and cultivating beauty is what makes life worth living. And, as Gill shows, this view had a huge impact on the development of natural religion, moral sense theory, aesthetics, and environmentalism. Combining captivating historical details and flashes of humor, A Philosophy of Beauty not only rediscovers and illuminates a fascinating philosopher but also offers an inspiring reflection about the role beauty can play in our lives.

Call Number: B1388.G495 2022

ISBN: 9780691226613

Cover Art Thank You for Arguing, Fourth Edition (Revised and Updated) by Jay Heinrichs The definitive guide to getting your way, revised and updated with new material on writing, speaking, framing, and other key tools for arguing more powerfully "Cross Cicero with David Letterman and you get Jay Heinrichs."--Joseph Ellis, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Quartet and American Sphinx Now in its fourth edition, Jay Heinrichs's Thank You for Arguing is your master class in the art of persuasion, taught by history's greatest professors, ranging from Queen Victoria and Winston Churchill to Homer Simpson and Barack Obama. Filled with time-tested secrets for emerging victorious from any dispute, including Cicero's three-step strategy for inspiring action and Honest Abe's Shameless Trick for lowering an audience's expectations, this fascinating book also includes an assortment of persuasion tips, such as: * The Chandler Bing Adjustment: Match your argument to your audience (that is, persuasion is not about you). * The Belushi Paradigm: Before people will follow you, they have to consider you worth following. * The Yoda Technique: Transform a banal idiom by switching the words around. Additionally, Heinrichs considers the dark arts of persuasion, such as politicians' use of coded language to appeal to specific groups. His sage guide has been fully updated to address our culture of "fake news" and political polarization. Whether you're a lover of language books or just want to win more anger-free arguments on the page, at the podium, or over a beer, Thank You for Arguing is for you. Warm, witty, and truly enlightening, it not only teaches you how to identify a paraleipsis when you hear it but also how to wield such persuasive weapons the next time you really, really need to get your way. This expanded edition also includes a new chapter on how to reset your audience's priorities, as well as new and improved ArgueLab games to hone your skills.

Call Number: P301.5.P47 H45 2020

ISBN: 9780593237380

Cover Art The Western Front by Nick Lloyd The Telegraph * Best Books of the Year The Times of London * Best Books of the Year A panoramic history of the savage combat on the Western Front between 1914 and 1918 that came to define modern warfare. The Western Front evokes images of mud-spattered men in waterlogged trenches, shielded from artillery blasts and machine-gun fire by a few feet of dirt. This iconic setting was the most critical arena of the Great War, a 400-mile combat zone stretching from Belgium to Switzerland where more than three million Allied and German soldiers struggled during four years of almost continuous combat. It has persisted in our collective memory as a tragic waste of human life and a symbol of the horrors of industrialized warfare. In this epic narrative history, the first volume in a groundbreaking trilogy on the Great War, acclaimed military historian Nick Lloyd captures the horrific fighting on the Western Front beginning with the surprise German invasion of Belgium in August 1914 and taking us to the Armistice of November 1918. Drawing on French, British, German, and American sources, Lloyd weaves a kaleidoscopic chronicle of the Marne, Passchendaele, the Meuse-Argonne, and other critical battles, which reverberated across Europe and the wider war. From the trenches where men as young as 17 suffered and died, to the headquarters behind the lines where Generals Haig, Joffre, Hindenburg, and Pershing developed their plans for battle, Lloyd gives us a view of the war both intimate and strategic, putting us amid the mud and smoke while at the same time depicting the larger stakes of every encounter. He shows us a dejected Kaiser Wilhelm II--soon to be eclipsed in power by his own generals--lamenting the botched Schlieffen Plan; French soldiers piling atop one another in the trenches of Verdun; British infantryman wandering through the frozen wilderness in the days after the Battle of the Somme; and General Erich Ludendorff pursuing a ruthless policy of total war, leading an eleventh-hour attack on Reims even as his men succumbed to the Spanish Flu. As Lloyd reveals, far from a site of attrition and stalemate, the Western Front was a simmering, dynamic "cauldron of war" defined by extraordinary scientific and tactical innovation. It was on the Western Front that the modern technologies--machine guns, mortars, grenades, and howitzers--were refined and developed into effective killing machines. It was on the Western Front that chemical warfare, in the form of poison gas, was first unleashed. And it was on the Western Front that tanks and aircraft were introduced, causing a dramatic shift away from nineteenth-century bayonet tactics toward modern combined arms, reinforced by heavy artillery, that forever changed the face of war. Brimming with vivid detail and insight, The Western Front is a work in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and John Keegan, Rick Atkinson and Antony Beevor: an authoritative portrait of modern warfare and its far-reaching human and historical consequences.

Call Number: D530.L568 2021

ISBN: 9781631497940

This post has no comments.

One Website to Rule Them All

08/18/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

Art, Communication, English Comp & Literature, Psychology

Did you know?

All your library and research resources are available in subject-specific Resource Guides on the Library Classroom in MyCourses.

Bookmark your subject's Resource Guide for a one-stop shop for every library resource at your fingertips!

Find the link to your research guide below:

This post has no comments.

Research Help - Did You Know?

08/18/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

Art, English Comp & Literature, History, Philosophy & Ethics

Did you know?

You can get free help with your research any time by using Ask a Librarian and Book a Librarian on our website!

This post has no comments.

You Can Check Out Passes!

08/18/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

No Subjects

You can check out passes for admission to a variety of Pueblo museums and Colorado locations! Just bring your student ID and you can check out the pass like you would a book.

Passes are available for checkout at the Pueblo Campus Library for currently enrolled students only. Passes permit free entry to numerous Pueblo museums, the Sangre de Cristo Arts Center, Pueblo Zoo, Impossible Players Theatre, and Colorado State Parks.

This post has no comments.

Events this Semester at the Library

08/18/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

No Subjects

Don't miss out on all the great events we'll have here at the library! They're all free!

August

Info!Zone
August 18-29
Have questions or need help? Come by the Info!Zone table in the Academic Building Commons to get assistance with finding your classes, navigating campus, and more. Available Monday - Friday 7:30am to 5pm.

September

Hispanic Heritage Month Read In

September 8-12, 8am-5pm

PCC Library

Discover new books, all written by Hispanic authors, scholars, and revolutionaries. Enjoy our quiet reading space or take something home to enjoy later! Join us virtually to enjoy our eBooks and streaming media at our Virtual Read In. This event is held in collaboration with the IDEA committee.

Experience El Movimiento

September 8, 10am-4pm

PCC Library and AB210M

Join us for a powerful exploration of the Chicano freedom movement and its lasting impact. Learn directly from the leaders of El Movimiento as they share their stories and insights. Enjoy guided tours of the exhibit and drop in for documentary screenings throughout the day in AB 210M. Refreshments will be provided—everyone is welcome! This event is held in collaboration with the IDEA committee.

October

Banned Books Giveaway

October 6-10, 8am-5pm

PCC Library

Celebrate the freedom to read with our Banned Books Giveaway—open to currently PCC enrolled students only! Stop by to pick up a free copy of a frequently challenged book and learn more about the importance of intellectual freedom. Available while supplies last.

"Read Between The Lines: Exploring Banned Books" presentation

October 8, 11am-12pm

Occhiato Theater

Join us for an eye-opening event that dives into the history and ongoing impact of banned books. Through thoughtful discussion, we’ll examine issues like age-appropriate material, censorship, and how libraries make intentional choices about the books on their shelves. Open to PCC students, instructors, staff, and the public. Refreshments and snacks available. Can't make it in person? Join us online.

Witch Trials: Accusation to Exoneration exhibit

October 1-31, 8am-5pm

Witch Hunts Then and Now: A Talk with Sarah Jack

October 9, 3pm - 4pm
Occhiato Theater and PCC Library

Attend virtually

Join Sarah Jack, founder of the nonprofit End Witch Hunts and descendant of colonial-era witch trial victims, for a powerful in-person talk that explores the history of witch trials and their surprising connections to modern-day events. Sarah’s work, featured in The New York Times and NPR, focuses on educating communities about the impact of historical and current witchcraft accusations around the world. Through storytelling and advocacy, she helps us understand how past injustices still shape lives today. Free giveaway included: themed basket and book on witch trials! Don’t miss this eye-opening event that connects history, justice, and community awareness.

Presented alongside the Witch Trials: Accusation to Exoneration exhibit.

Author Event: Kathleen Kent – The Heretic’s Daughter

October 16, 4pm - 5pm
Occhiato Theater and PCC Library

Attend virtually

Join us for a powerful evening with Kathleen Kent, bestselling author of The Heretic’s Daughter, a gripping historical novel based on the life of Martha Carrier, one of the women hanged during the Salem Witch Trials and Kent’s own ancestor. Through vivid storytelling and personal connection, Kent brings to life the fear, strength, and resilience of those unjustly accused. Stay after the talk for a meet & greet and book signing (please bring your own copy). One lucky attendee will win a signed copy of The Heretic’s Daughter in our event giveaway!

This special event is presented in conjunction with the exhibit Witch Trials: Accusation to Exoneration.

Virtual Author Talk: Daniel Gagnon – A Salem Witch: The Trial, Execution, and Exoneration of Rebecca Nurse

October 22, 4pm - 5pm
Occhiato Theater and PCC Library

Attend virtually

Take a deeper look into the life and legacy of Rebecca Nurse, one of Salem’s most iconic victims, with historian and author Daniel Gagnon. In this live virtual event, Gagnon will discuss his acclaimed book A Salem Witch: The Trial, Execution, and Exoneration of Rebecca Nurse, shedding light on the injustice she faced and the long fight for her exoneration. Join us for a group viewing with refreshments in the Occhiato Theater at 4 PM on October 22. Attendees can enter into a giveaway for a signed copy of the book.

Part of the programming for Witch Trials: Accusation to Exoneration.

PCC Library’s 2nd Annual Halloweek!

October 27 - 31, All Day
PCC Library

Get Ready for PCC Library’s 2nd Annual HALLOWEEK! Join the PCC Library all week long for some frightfully fun spirit days — dress up, show off, and compete for prizes! Dress up daily and celebrate in style! Wear your best costume and enter the library costume contest for a chance to win a Library Gift Basket! Judging in the library, don’t miss it! Costume Contest Winner announced Friday! Come dressed, have fun, and celebrate the season with the PCC Library!

This post has no comments.

A World of Art, Literature, and more!

08/18/2025

Hannah Moody-Goo

Art, English Comp & Literature, Philosophy & Ethics

We have hundreds of databases with free, high-quality information available 24/7! Click the link below to access them. They include:

JSTOR

Featured

Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Poetry and Short Story Reference Source

Full-text database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides. It also includes high-quality videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Have questions? Need help? Ask us!

This post has no comments.