Selected eBooks -- A Sample of Available Titles
-
Mosby’s Medical Dictionary.
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780323085410Mosby's Medical Dictionary, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, quick-reference appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations. -
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors
by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2022 -
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
ISBN: 9781948057875Publication Date: 2022 -
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
by
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Fourth Edition, a Four Volume Set, provides updated information on the foundations of nutrition science, along with the biology and functions of vitamins and other essential nutrients present in the human diet. The book's content offers a modern understanding of the links between diet and health effects, including diseases of recognized nutritional etiology. This overview of the genetic and molecular aspects of nutrient-health interrelationships includes important content on topics like nutrigenomics, metabolomics and the microbiome. In addition, the book provides global context, particularly on the issue of food production, sustainability and climate change. The new edition carries on the legacy of a reference work that comprehensively offers a one-source, integrated bank of information on all three areas - food, nutrition science and clinical nutrition. Provides an excellent overview of the field of human nutrition Includes interdisciplinary chapters written by experts from around the world - chapters written by academics and practitioners from various fields and regions ensure the knowledge within is easily understood by, and applicable to, a large audience Ideal for scientists in the fields of food science, biology, physiology, agriculture and climate change
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780323908160Publication Date: 2023-03-16 -
Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine
by
Awarded with the 2018 Prose Award in Clinical Medicine, the third edition of Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine explored and described exciting new areas in biomedicine that integrated technology into the treatment of disease and the augmentation of human function. Novel topics such as the sex-specific aspects of space medicine, the development and the use of genderized robots and a discussion of cyborgs were included in the third edition, providing a preview of the expanding world of sex-specific physiology and therapeutics. This Fourth Edition is a continuation of the mission to trace the relevance of biological sex to normal function and to the experience of disease in humans. We are now twenty years into the postgenomic era. The investigation of how the genome produces the phenome has led to fascinating insights as well as yet unanswered questions. Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine, Fourth Edition, has a central theme: discuss advances in understanding the role of epigenetics in regulating gene expression in a dynamic, sex-specific way during human life. It explores the protean role of epigenetics in human physiology, the relevance of environmental experience to human function, the therapeutic promise of cutting-edge methodologies like gene manipulation, the preparation of humans for space travel, the use of artificial intelligence in detection and therapeutic decisions concerning disease states, the possibilities for technological support of not only compromised individuals but of the augmentation of human function, and an analysis of the benefits, limitations and issues that surround our current expectations of personalized medicine.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780323885348Publication Date: 2023-04-05 -
Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses
by
All nursing students are required to meet the seven standards produced by the Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC) before being entered onto the professional register. Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses addresses two of these important standards, helping readers become proficient in assessing patient needs, and planning, providing and evaluating care. This timely publication adopts a practical approach with NMC proficiencies at its core, providing guidance and insight into the application of key skills and demonstrating competency in real-life settings. Centres around a fictitious nuclear family to provide a practical basis to the various chapters and assessment Offers mnemonics to enable comprehensive history taking and systematic physical assessment Helps readers address socio-cultural considerations they may face in practice Includes links to literature that provides further support and additional information Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses is an important resource for pre-registration nursing students and Nursing Associates who are required to demonstrate proficiency in the new NMC standards, and other registered practitioners seeking to update their knowledge.
Publication Date: 2019 -
Etiquette &Communication Strategies for Nurses
by
Publication Date: 2020 -
Nursing Skills for Children and Young People's Mental Health by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2020 -
Fast Facts about Medical Cannabis and Opioids: Minimizing Opioid Use Through Cannabis
by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2021 -
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781260019933Publication Date: 2019
Find more eBooks using the link below:
Selected Physical Books in the PPSC Libraries
-
Lippincott Q&A Review for NCLEX-RN
by
Lippincott Q&A Review for NCLEX-RN, 12th edition is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students prepare to take the licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book is as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. Because the questions found in the book are also available in PassPoint, the products used together act as an ongoing assessment tool to monitor progress throughout the nursing curriculum. The book is designed to support the four major content areas in pre-licensure programs: obstetrics, pediatrics, medical-surgical, and mental health nursing. Within each of the four sections, chapters are organized around common health problems. When studying, students can select examinations that parallel the content in a particular course in a variety of curricula. PassPoint offers the same flexibility for review and study. The textbook also includes six comprehensive examinations to provide students a realistic example of the NCLEX-RN test, in which test items are randomized by subject area and difficulty. This consistently bestselling NCLEX-RN review book features more than 6,000 high-level questions that prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. The questions support the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2016 RN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. Other features include the use of all the types of alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationale for both correct and incorrect answers, information about the NCLEX-RN, study tips, and a "Content Mastery and Test-Taking Self Analysis" grid by which students can chart their own progress and modify study plans as needed. The accompanying site on thePoint provides an opportunity for students to practice taking computer-generated exams as well as taking "audio" questions that require students to listen to audio files to answer.
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RT55 .B55 2017 -
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis
by
Updated and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 5th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 11th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. It includes the 2015-17 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses Alphabetical thumb tabs Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions Pocketsize portability Nursing Diagnoses Index UNIQUE! Includes the 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, with pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions Alphabetical thumb tabs provide quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RT48.6 .L33 2017 -
Pocket Drug Guide Nurses 2016
The 2016 Lippincott Pocket Drug Guide for Nurses provides current, vital drug information "in a nutshell." Based on the popular Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide by Amy Karch, this handy pocket guide by the same author gives essential information on over 1,500 medications in an easy-access A-to-Z format. The "mini" drug monographs include generic and trade names, drug class, pregnancy risk category and controlled substance schedule, "black box" warnings, indications & dosages, dose adjustments, adverse effects, drug interactions, nursing considerations, and patient teaching. A special section reviews Patient Safety and Medication Administration. Appendices cover topical and ophthalmic medications, laxatives, combination products, contraceptives, biological agents (vaccines), and more. Also includes free online access to Monthly Drug Updates and a Toolkit loaded with hundreds of additional of additional drug-related resources on thePoint. The pocket-sized 2016 Lippincott Pocket Drug Guide for Nurses will quickly become your go-to guide for important drug facts and vital patient safety tips and alerts. New to this edition: - Full monographs on 29 newly approved drugs More than 1,300 additions, changes, and updates to indications, dosages, and administration
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RM121 .K373 2016 -
Pragmatic Children's Nursing
by
Pragmatic Children's Nursingis the first attempt to create a paediatric nursing theory which argues for the importance of giving children living with illness access to a childhood which is, as far as possible, equal to that of their peers. Set in the historical context of the development of children's nursing, this theory is presented in detail as an educational process, complete with eight outcome measures which allow the practitioner to evaluate its effectiveness. This book explores the triad relationship between children, carers and nurses within the context of healthcare delivery. Ht analyses the moral and ethical implications of pragmatic children's nursing, which challenges the established ideas of family-centred care. In addition to offering theoretical grounding and debate, Randall presents four practical case studies which model how this theory may work within various hospital and community settings. Establishing a link between the concepts inherent in pragmatism and our understanding of childhood within society, this accessible book will appeal to a global audience of undergraduate and postgraduate nursing students, researchers and policy makers.
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RJ245 .R36 2016 -
Saunders comprehensive review for the NCLEX-PN examination
by
Call Number: RT62 .S53 2019ISBN: 9780323484886Publication Date: 2019
Find Books at PPSC
Where to Find Nursing Books on the Shelf
| R | Medicine, General |
| RB | Pathology |
| RC | Internal Medicine |
| RD | Surgery |
| RG | Gynecology and Obstetrics |
| RJ | Pediatrics |
| RM | Therapeutics, Pharmacology |
| RT | Nursing |
Selected Videos
Find academic (citable) videos using the link below:
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Curated videos spanning a wide variety of subjects. Videos include content from leading sources such as PBS, the BBC, ABC News, HBO and more.