LibGuides: English and Literature: Find Articles

Search Here!

What is a Database?

A database is an organized collection of information, usually articles, that allow you to search and find the information you need. Most databases are paid by subscriptions. Please use the links below to access the databases (do not search Google and use that link as it will ask you to pay for access).

Where are the databases?

Here is an A-Z Database List for all of the databases available to you.

Looking for a Topic Idea? Not Sure Where To Start? Try These Databases!

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This all subjects resource includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps. 
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This resource covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). It also includes academic journals, newspapers, magazines and more.
Research Starters This link opens in a new window Research Starters is a feature in EBSCO Discovery Service that provides links to citable, authoritative summary articles for thousands of popular topics. 
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window Use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.

English and Literature Databases

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window Hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window Content on core authors and works, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more—including videos, proprietary essay topics and discussion questions, and valuable writing guidance—that can be used in lectures or for independent study.
Education Database This link opens in a new window The database supports global study and research from early childhood to secondary education, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window provides an in-depth look at the history of race and delivers critical context on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusivity, offering students necessary resources for developing a better understanding of the experiences of racial groups in society. Provides essays written and reviewed by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine, and other disciplines working to address issues related to race. In addition, this database includes full-text articles from academic journals, primary source documents, nonprofit organizations, primary source documents and government agency reports.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Curated videos spanning a wide variety of subjects. Videos include content from leading sources such as PBS, the BBC, ABC News, HBO and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of classic and contemporary full-text poems, short stories, and novels.
MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window This database contains full text for popular magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection, and expanded full text backfiles for key magazines.
NoveList This link opens in a new window Find your next favorite book! NoveList is a reader's advisory database where you can search for recommended fiction titles by genre, read-a-likes, reading level, and more!
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Source This link opens in a new window Full-text database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides. It also includes high-quality videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This resource covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). It also includes academic journals, newspapers, magazines and more.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window Project Gutenberg is an online library of over 70,000 free eBooks. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Purdue Online Writing Lab This link opens in a new window The online writing lab offers global support through online reference materials and services for creating citations, cover letters, major-specific writing help, and general writing advice.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window Use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.

Reference, Dictionary, and Encyclopedia Databases

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This all subjects resource includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps. 
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Offers full text ebooks, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Legal Information Reference Source This link opens in a new window Providing exclusive online full text for more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.
MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window This database contains full text for popular magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection, and expanded full text backfiles for key magazines.
Mosby's Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window Features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, quick-reference appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Source This link opens in a new window Full-text database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides. It also includes high-quality videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This resource covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). It also includes academic journals, newspapers, magazines and more.
Prescribers' Digital Reference (PDR) This link opens in a new window Delivers innovative health knowledge products and services that support prescribing decisions and patient adherence to improve health. 
Research Library This link opens in a new window Offers one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Includes a mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.

What to do when you find a good article in a database

If you locate an article you wish to use, you can often email it to yourself. You do not need to use your CCA student email address. While on the article result page, you can often get the citation (APA, MLA, or Chicago Notes and Bibliography) by clicking on the "Quotation marks."

English and Literature

Ask a Librarian!

Student Success Librarian