LibGuides: English and Literature: English and Literature Home

Introduction

Welcome to the CCA Library English Research Guide! This guide provides information about searching for and citing resources for English studies and research.

English involves the study and exploration of texts created in the English language. This includes literature and composition, which come in the form of novels, plays, speeches, short stories, poetry, essays, and more. People studying English reflect upon, analyze, and interpret these texts and present their analysis in their own work.

Use this guide to access and explore English resources from the CCA Library and beyond. Good luck with your research!

Search Here!

Reference, Dictionary, and Encyclopedia Databases

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This all subjects resource includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps. 
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Offers full text ebooks, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Legal Information Reference Source This link opens in a new window Providing exclusive online full text for more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.
MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window This database contains full text for popular magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection, and expanded full text backfiles for key magazines.
Mosby's Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window Features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, quick-reference appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Source This link opens in a new window Full-text database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides. It also includes high-quality videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This resource covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). It also includes academic journals, newspapers, magazines and more.
Prescribers' Digital Reference (PDR) This link opens in a new window Delivers innovative health knowledge products and services that support prescribing decisions and patient adherence to improve health. 
Research Library This link opens in a new window Offers one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Includes a mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.

English and Literature

Ask a Librarian!

Student Success Librarian

Introduction

Search Here!

Reference, Dictionary, and Encyclopedia Databases

English News