LibGuides: World Mythology (HUM 1015): Databases and Internet Links

Introduction to Mythology Databases

These online resources will help you find trustworthy information from academic journals, reference books, and some primary sources related to worldwide cultural practices and beliefs. Reach out if you would like a librarian to walk you through these resources and share tips for how best to search them!

Database: Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature provides access to full-text stories and literary criticism of famous stories from around the world, including myths. In addition to background information and essays, Bloom's includes writing tools to practice critical thinking and begin drafting your own papers related to understanding themes in mythology.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window Content on core authors and works, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more—including videos, proprietary essay topics and discussion questions, and valuable writing guidance—that can be used in lectures or for independent study.

Database: Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)

EBSCO's Religion & Philosophy Collection includes articles related to world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Covers analysis of folklore and legends from a variety of cultures.

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Database: Religion Database (ProQuest)

ProQuest's Religion database covers multiple belief systems, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Islam, Hinduism, Mormonism, Baha’ism, Catholicism, Protestantism, Evangelism, Pentecostalism, Sikhism, Shinto, Jainism, Baptist, Presbyterian, Methodist, Lutheran, and Eastern Orthodox. Articles provide interpretation and analysis of spiritual texts and contemporary religious commentary on issues.

Religion Database This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious subjects, reflecting a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Database: Gale Religion/Philosophy

A single search of this collection of electronic reference books will return documents on many current controversial topics and on religions, mythology, and philosophy. NOTE: You will need a Poudre River Public Library District library card to access this database outside of the library.

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! There are thousands of videos relating to the study of mythology and ancient cultures on Films on Demand.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Curated videos spanning a wide variety of subjects. Videos include content from leading sources such as PBS, the BBC, ABC News, HBO and more.