Primary Sources - Colorado History HIS 2135 - Newman - LibGuides at Colorado Community College System

Where to Find Primary Sources in the Online Library Collection

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Images of paintings, sculpture, clothing, museum artifacts, and 360-degree views of architecture
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
To find primary sources, open Advanced Search and look for Document Type. Select the primary source type that interests you (government/official document, illustration, image/photograph, memoir/personal document, play, poem, prose, speech) and add more search words related to your topic.
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
A service of the Colorado State Library, CHNC currently includes more than 2.9 million digitized pages, representing more than 650 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 - 2022.
Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Includes primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. To find primary sources, open advanced search and find the Document Type filter. From the list, select the primary source type that interests you: advertisement, art reproduction, ballad, cartoon/comic, diary, image, interview, poem, event review, script/play, short story, speech, etc. Add any other search terms to your search!
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Curated videos spanning a wide variety of subjects. Videos include content from leading sources such as PBS, the BBC, ABC News, HBO and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scroll down on the JSTOR homepage until you see "Enrich your research with primary sources." Click on Browse by collection to see images, flyers, and other primary sources from archives, museums, and library collections around the world.
In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Search using keywords or explore curated topic pages.

Where to Find Primary Sources in the Physical Library Collection

Primary sources could show up in a lot of places in the physical library collection. It depends on the angle of the topic. Here are some library collections that may be helpful:

BIOGRAPHY: Organized by last name of person whose life is the focus, not by the author's last name (unless it is a memoir)
NON-FICTION: Dewey Decimal Call numbers could be around 978.8 (Colorado), 323 (social conditions, politics), or other nonfiction locations depending on the topic, time period, or focus.
OVERSIZE: includes a lot of history and art books
REFERENCE

Alone on the Colorado [eBook] by Harold H. Leich
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
Harold Leich set out on a westward journey in the summer of 1933. His travel narrative details his river trip down the Yellowstone River and the first descent by boat of the upper Colorado River from Grand Lake, Colorado, through Cataract Canyon, Utah. He was the first to push through this entire upper section, running rapids that had never known a paddle, rebuilding his kayak along the riverbanks, camping rough, and meeting ranchers and railroad workers in these remote regions. Leich's sudden change of fortune in Cataract Canyon, in the most isolated part of Utah, and his soul searching as he worked his way out of a perilous situation, will speak to anyone who has ventured beyond roads and trails and faced potential tragedy alone. Alone on the Colorado takes readers on the adventure of running rivers and riding the rails, while painting a unique and optimistic portrait of Depression-era America.

Colorado History HIS 2135 - Newman

What are primary sources?

Ask Us

Feeling stuck? Get in touch with a librarian!

FRCC-LC Library Staff

General Help

Where to Find Primary Sources in the Online Library Collection

FRCC-Larimer Discovery Search

Where to Find Primary Sources in the Physical Library Collection