Introduction
In this guide, you will find Early Childhood Education databases, suggested books and web resources, and information on anti-bias education. If you need any help using this guide or have a question that has not been answered by these sources, feel free to reach out or make an appointment!
The Google search widget below can help you get started if you would like to familiarize yourself with the topic and research that exists already before moving through this guide.
Our Favorite Resource
- National Center for Pyramid Model InnovationsNCPMI provides all its services with the goal of promoting the positive social, emotional and behavioral outcomes of young children (birth through five), reducing the use of inappropriate discipline practices, increasing the inclusion and ongoing participation of young children with disabilities in early childhood settings, and the promotion of family engagement.
CCC Online Databases
- Ed.Flicks This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 140 video segments in early childhood education on topics such as challenging behaviors, family partnership, infant and toddler care, child assessment, teacher performance and more.
- Education Database This link opens in a new window The database supports global study and research from early childhood to secondary education, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
- Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
- Exchange Articles on Demand This link opens in a new window Bimonthly publication focused on the administration of programs for young children, whose goal is to support center administrators with workable strategies for dealing with the responsibilities and demands they face each day.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
