Early Childhood Education: Books

Big body play'-the sometimes rowdy, always very physical running, rolling, climbing, tagging, jumping, grabbing, and wrestling that most children love and many adults try to shut down-can and should be an integral part of every early childhood setting. Drawing from evidence-based practice and the latest research, this book explains the multitude of benefits of big body play for young children's social-emotional, cognitive, and physical development. Learn how to organize the physical environment, set rules and policies, and supervise the play to balance children's fundamental needs with our responsibility as teachers to keep them safe.

We are robbing young children of play time at home and school in an effort to give them a head start on academic skills like reading and mathematics. Yet the scientific evidence suggests that eliminating play from the lives of children is taking preschool education in the wrong direction. Thisbrief but compelling book provides a strong counterargument to the rising tide of didactic instruction on preschool classrooms.The authors present scientific evidence in support of three points: 1) children need both unstructured free time and playful learning under the gentle guidance of adults to best prepare for entrance into formal school; 2) academic and social development are inextricably intertwined, so academiclearning must not trump attention to social development; and 3) learning and play are not incompatible. Rather, playful learning captivates children's minds in ways that support better academic and social outcomes as well as strategies for lifelong learning.Written in clear and expressive language, this book offers a comprehensive review of research supporting playful learning along with succinct policy and practice recommendations that derive from this research. A Mandate for Playful Learning in Preschool is a must read for teachers, policy makers,and parents interested in educating a generation of life-long learners who are ready for school and ready to compete in the knowledge-based economy of the 21st century.

Play is the most effective way for children to develop critical life skills such as creative thinking and social problem solving. In this book, Betty Jones, well-known for her work on play, is joined by her colleague Renatta Cooper to offer a radical vision of early schooling--an antidote for the current pressure of standardized education. Practicing what it preaches, Playing to Get Smart will be a playful reading experience for teachers and parents alike. With jokes, riddles, and stories sprinkled throughout, the authors show how important play is for children of all ethnic and socioeconomic groups, from birth to age 8. A provocative challenge to teachers and parents of young children, Playing to Get Smart: Explains why teachers need to provide opportunities for quality play and why parents need to understand the benefits of play for their children. Demonstrates how play offers opportunities for initiative, leadership, conflict resolution, and peacemaking. Addresses the negative effects of traditional schooling, particularly on poor children.

The Power of Guidance: Teaching Social-Emotional Skills In the Early Childhood Classroom gives readers valuable insight into using guidance in the early childhood setting through a collection of popular writings on this timely topic. Taking into consideration the social and emotional development in young children, the book examines such areas as understanding why children behave the way they do and how to use the guidance approach to succeed in teaching acceptable social behaviors. The material discusses the differences between such important concepts as patience and understanding and between misbehavior and mistaken behavior. These concepts provide insight into the importance of developing an encouraging classroom and how that leads to non-punitive strategies for managing the classroom setting. The popular guidance concept of this book attracted the attention of the NAEYC, which has made it a comprehensive member benefit for 2003.

Social-emotional learning, a child's ability to manage feelings and to interact successfully with others, is the foundation for school readiness and success. Me, You, Us explores 11 separate areas of social-emotional learning and offers numerous teaching strategies and suggestions for professional development. This book helps educators chart a path for young children toward the development of the social-emotional skills they need to succeed in school and in life.

Brain-based learning involves both hemispheres of children's brains working together, resulting in stronger, more meaningful learning experiences. Each fun activity in this book is designed to promote brain-based learning in the areas of language, mathematics, science, art, music, and the environment, and encourages physical, social, and emotional development. Each activity includes a materials list, extension activities, variations for multi-sensory exploration, components for diversity, and an explanation of the brain connections being made. Brain-Based Early Learning Activities also includes a comprehensive overview of early brain development and how to create a brain-based early learning environment.

This monograph concerns the psychological processes underlying the development of executive function, or the conscious control of thought and action. It has long been clear that these processes change considerably in early childhood, transforming a relatively stimulus-driven toddler into a child capable of flexible, goal-directed problem solving. However, the nature of these processes has remained elusive. In a programmatic series of 9 experiments, the authors examine circumstances that help or hinder executive function in 3- to 4-year-old children. The results provide the basis for a revision of their Cognitive Complexity and Control (CCC-r) theory, according to which there are age-related increases in the complexity of the rules that children can formulate and use when solving problems. The revised theory (a) specifies more clearly the circumstances in which children will have difficulty using rules at various levels of complexity, (b) provides a more detailed account of how to determine the complexity of rules required in a task, (c) takes account of both the activation and inhibition of rules as a function of experience, and (d) highlights the importance of considering intentionality in the study of executive function.

How we raise young children is one of today's most highly personalized and sharply politicized issues, in part because each of us can claim some level of "expertise." The debate has intensified as discoveries about our development-in the womb and in the first months and years-have reached the popular media. How can we use our burgeoning knowledge to assure the well-being of all young children, for their own sake as well as for the sake of our nation? Drawing from new findings, this book presents important conclusions about nature-versus-nurture, the impact of being born into a working family, the effect of politics on programs for children, the costs and benefits of intervention, and other issues. The committee issues a series of challenges to decision makers regarding the quality of child care, issues of racial and ethnic diversity, the integration of children's cognitive and emotional development, and more. Authoritative yet accessible, From Neurons to Neighborhoods presents the evidence about "brain wiring" and how kids learn to speak, think, and regulate their behavior. It examines the effect of the climate-family, child care, community-within which the child grows.

Best practice is based on knowledge, not on beliefs or guesses about how children learn and develop. This volume contains 20 overviews of research on aspects of young children's social, emotional, cognitive, or physical development, as well as how the findings can be applied in the classroom. Originally "Research in Review" articles in NAEYC's journal Young Children, each has been freshly updated to reflect the current context and research base.

As the only text of its kind, this book provides in-depth information about Vygotsky's theories, neo-Piagetians' findings, and concrete explanations and strategies that instruct teachers how to influence student learning and development. KEY TOPICS: Key changes to this edition include a new chapter on dynamic assessment, separate and expanded chapters on developmental accomplishments of infants and toddlers, preschool/kindergarten, and primary grades and on supporting those accomplishments, and elaborations of Vygotsky's ideas from neo-Vygotskians from Russia. Pre-K through 3 inservice teachers and other early childhood development educators.

This is a reference text on child development up to the age of eight years. Covering the main features of physiology, cognitive, emotional, and language development in normal children using an age/stage approach, it then looks at the major developmental problems, as well as looking at the development of gifted children.

This comprehensive guide to assessment in early childhood continues to provide the most current research, best thinking, and practical guidance to integrate assessment with effective teaching. Assessing and Guiding Young Children's Development and Learning is the only text that shows assessment as a process teachers can use to improve teaching and ensure student learning. It incorporates current trends in assessment with examples and approaches being used in early childhood classrooms. The text includes guides for interpreting and using assessment information once it has been collected. The assessment strategies presented are compatible with all approaches to educating young children. The social, cultural, legal, and ethical context of assessment and its implications for teachers and teaching are realistically presented.

The Complete Resource Book is perfect to use as a planning guide or as a resource for responding to children's specific interests. The daily plans have circle time, music and movement activities, suggested books, and learning center ideas. The appendix is jam-packed with songs, recipes, and games. This book is like having a master teacher at your side for inspiration all year long.

Give teachers the tools to watch, listen, and learn! Focused Observations provides a comprehensive introduction to observation in the early childhood classroom. Six chapters detail classroom-tested observation techniques that allow teachers to understand children's behavior, assess children's development, and develop curriculum that addresses children's capabilities and passions. Ideal for pre-service or practicing teachers, Focused Observations also contains discussion questions, observation practice exercises, and reflection assignments.

More and more teachers of young children are being asked to develop their curriculum according to standards. This essential resource will guide educators as they grapple with a plethora of issues, questions, and practices surrounding the use of standards in the early childhood classroom. Carol Seefeldt, well-known educator and bestselling author, offers teachers an overview of the standards movement; describes the status of standards in early education; presents the issues around the design and selection of standards; and provides practical strategies for effectively implementing standards with young children (preschool through the early primary grades). This book provides both the background knowledge and a working understanding of standards to help teachers: successfully judge and select standards; design appropriate ways of using and working with standards; and develop appropriate assessment strategies. Illustrated with children's work, this "how-to" guide: provides practical illustrations of how standards can be used to benefit early childhood classrooms, including many sample activities; demonstrates how to work with standards in the separate subject areas of the sciences, arts, language and literacy, mathematics, and social studies; offers ideas for including all children, such as those with special needs and those just learning English; and describes a project, Children Study Their Play Yard, illustrating how thematic, standards-based, problem-solving learning can be integrated into the total curriculum.

Make Early Learning Standards Come Alive provides a focused and easy-to-understand look at the most common early childhood learning standards, including what they are, how current classroom practices support them, and how teachers can plan curriculum with their state's learning standards in mind. Written by Gaye Gronlund, an early childhood consultant with experience working with teachers and directors around standards, this timely resource focuses specifically on math, science, literacy, social studies, social/emotional development, and physical development standards, and on how teachers can implement these standards in a way that is deveopmentally appropriate and good for children.

Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0134479424. This child-centered approach to understanding and planning curriculum focuses on humanistic and progressive education pedagogy in preschool and primary grades. The authors stress a curriculum that is joyful, has meaning to children, is built upon children's strengths, has intellectual integrity, uses developmentally appropriate pedagogy, and encourages teachers to be passionate learners along with children. The book's personal tone, many practical examples, step-by-step lesson planning process, and children's art and photographs of children bring the content to life. The new edition features updating throughout and a number of new features that add to the understanding and usefulness of the concepts, among them: Some things to say sections, end-of-section self-check digital quizzes with feedback, refreshed videos, end-of-chapter Explore and Experience sections, new children's art and photographs of children, new improved lesson planning formats, more examples of integrated curriculum, new sections on teaching curriculum to two-year-olds, and a new connection to current national subject area standards throughout. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.

Learn About the Power of Emergent CurriculumThis remarkable collection of stories from early childhood settings illustrates what is possible when using an emergent curriculum approach. The stories tackle unusual topics, such as assessingthe need for program rules, addressing the impact of a hurricane on classroom design, observing the empathy of toddlers, exploring children's ideas about sculpture, and appreciating a long-term, multiage project in an after-school program. Overall, what readers witness is a rise in the quality of practice that results when responding to emerging topics.Responses to each chapter, written by educators whose interests and experiences relate to the topics addressed, add to the content and impact of these stories on the depth of learning that takes place when teachers and children engage in emergent curriculum. These experts include Elizabeth Jones, Margie Carter, Deb Curtis, Marian Marion, Laurie Kocher, Veronica Pacini-Ketchabaw, Mary Benson McMullen, Carol Copple, Susan Fraser, Travis Wright, Carolyn Pope Edwards, and Lella Gandini.These extraordinary stories will inspire early childhood educators to imagine new possibilities in curriculum and learning.

Presents 52 small-group activities based on five curriculum content areas: language, literacy, and communication; mathematics; science and technology; the arts (visual art and music); and physical development, health, and well-being. Each activity follows a standard format with a complete description to help plan, carry out, and follow up on activities.

Bringing together prominent scholars, this book shows how 21st-century research and theory can inform everyday instructional practices in early childhood classrooms (PreK-3). Coverage includes foundational topics such as alphabet learning, phonological awareness, oral language development, and learning to write, as well as cutting-edge topics such as digital literacy, informational texts, and response to intervention. Every chapter features guiding questions; an overview of ideas and findings on the topic at hand; specific suggestions for improving instruction, assessment, and/or the classroom environment; and an engrossing example of the practices in action.

In their new collaboration, Celia Genishi and Anne Haas Dyson celebrate the genius of young children who are learning language and literacy in our diverse times. Despite burgeoning sociocultural diversity, many early childhood classrooms (pre-K to grade 2) offer a one-size-fits-all curriculum in which learning is too often assessed by standardized tests. In contrast, Genishi and Dyson proclaim diversity as the new norm. They feature stories of children whose language learning is impossible to standardize and teachers who do not follow scripts. These master teachers observe, informally assess, respond to, and grow with their students--some of whom are rapid language learners and some of whom become speakers, readers, and writers at "child speed." Much of this learning, regardless of tempo, is found within the language-rich contexts of play. Chapters focus on children's ways of communicating through varied modes, including the use of nonverbal expression; languages such as Spanish, English, and the variant of English known as African American Language; and multiple media. Throughout the text there is a resistance to labels such as "at risk" and a much-needed advocacy for child-sensible practices in a world where diversity is indeed the "new norm."

Engage Preschoolers in Counting, Comparing, and Discovering Their Way to Learning What every preschool teacher needs! Filled with practical strategies and useful information on math and science, this book offers: Learning center ideas Engaging activities Practical suggestions that are easy to implement Ideas that support the development and learning of every preschooler Children's book recommendations This excellent resource of engaging learning experiences for preschoolers was developed for you by the editors of Teaching Young Children.

If you think the words young children and physics don't belong together, think again. Based on the theories of Piaget and the work of DeVries and Sales, this book successfully makes the case for building a constructivist approach to physical science learning in the early childhood classroom. Ramps and Pathways: Reviews how children "construct" content knowledge and the mental ability to organize knowledge (intelligence)  Explains why ramps activities engage children deeply in reasoning about physical objects and phenomena such as force and motion, across a range of ages and developmental levels, even over several years  Provides a rationale you can use to explain and defend the educational value of children's play and exploration  Shows you how to apply the 10 principles of constructivist teaching in your classroom  Includes dozens of full-color photographs of children's amazing structures

With more than 125 activities, Science Adventures opens up a world of exploration through nature activities in urban, suburban, or rural settings. From Big Step Measuring and Rocks That Write to The Ant Restaurant and How Far Can You Squeeze a Squirt?, the engaging activities in Science Adventures make exploring the environment fun and easy! The authors have adapted the kindergarten science standards set by the National Academy of Sciences to make them developmentally appropriate for preschool children. Each chapter focuses on one of these standards, and the activities within each chapter progress from simple to more complex. Many of the activities feature suggestions for including families, adaptations for English language learners, modifications for children with special needs, or appropriate ways to use technology with young children. The activities also incorporate assessment components and ways to relate topics across curriculum areas. Chapters Include: Looking, Listening, and Learning: The Beginning of Science Ramps, Wheels, and Wings: Learning About the Physical World Bugs, Birds, and Blossoms: Learning About Living Things Soils, Shadows, and Sunshine: Learning About Earth and Weather Weighing, Working, and Watching: The Tools of Science

This second edition of The Young Child and Mathematics reflects on recent developments in math education through vignettes, activity ideas, and strategies for teaching young children about math processes and concepts. Using standards and guidelines from NCTM) and NAEYC, Juanita Copley shows how teachers can readily and enjoyably make mathematics an integral part of their classrooms all day, every day.Includes a DVD of print and video resources, including clips of the author in action in real classrooms, engaging young children in math thinking and learning.

In classrooms across the country, teachers are encountering more children who are learning English, come from diverse backgrounds, and who speak a variety of languages. As challenging as this may be, a preschool teacher's goal remains the same: to welcome all children and give them the best possible start in education and in life. Even the most experienced teacher can feel a bit unsure about meeting the unique needs of children from different language backgrounds. Many Languages, One Classroom applies the latest information about best practices to all aspects of a preschool program. From using lists of key words and visual aids to using body language and gestures, the strategies you will find in this book are adaptable and easy to put into practice. Designed to fit any preschool curriculum, Many Languages, One Classroom addresses state standards and benchmarks of standard quality programming. Organized by interest areas and times of the day, you'll find everything you need to help English language learners during dramatic play, outdoor play, reading, science, blocks, and circle time. Each chapter has the following key components: The Environment Activities Links to Standards Family Connections Technology Tips Reflections Many Languages, One Classroom is filled with ideas you can implement in your classroom to open the doors of literacy and learning for young English language learners.

Today's early childhood educators are serving more children learning English as a second language than ever--in Head Start alone, nearly 30% of the children speak a language other than English at home.* To support second language learners and put them on the path to academic success, every teacher needs this popular, practical, and highly readable guidebook. Reflecting 10 years of dramatic change in early education--especially in critical areas like assessment and cultural diversity--the second edition of this bestseller gives teachers up-to-date research, usable information, and essential tools to meet the needs of second language learners in today's learning environments. Leading researcher Patton Tabors equips teachers with the foundation of knowledge they need to apply cutting-edge research to their everyday teaching practices address NAEYC's recommendations for responding to linguistic and cultural diversity use appropriate assessment techniques for children's first and second language, including an easy-to-use observation checklist (on the CD-ROM) to monitor children's English language learning over time discover ways to improve literacy instruction for all children, including literacy practices checklists (on the CD-ROM) that pinpoint areas needing curriculum support understand and attend to the particular needs of internationally adopted children conduct thought-provoking professional discussions with the book-club-ready study guide and materials (on the CD-ROM) Teachers will also get updates on all the key topics covered in the first edition, including working with parents, understanding the process of second-language acquisition, and using the curriculum and classroom organization to facilitate English language and literacy learning. Ideal for professional development, this book is the best tool a teacher can have to support the language and literacy development and school success of second language learners while honoring their home languages and cultures. *English Language Learners Focus Group Report, 2002 Get practical strategies on the accompanying DVD, One Child, Two Languages in Action. A featured book in our Launching Literacy Kit! See which domain of school readiness in the Head Start Child Development and Early Learning Framework this book addresses.

It is well known that the number of non-English speakers is on the rise in the United States. What is less well known is that the largest proportion of this population is children under the age of 5. These young English language learners (ELLs) often demonstrate achievement gaps in basic math and reading skills when they start school. How best to educate this important and growing preschool population is a pressing concern for policymakers and practitioners. The chapters in this important book provide up-to-date syntheses of the research base for young ELLs on critical topics such as demographics, development of bilingualism, cognitive and neurological benefits of bilingualism, and family relationships, as well as classroom, assessment, and teacher-preparation practices. Each chapter reviews the research and answers the following questions: What does the research clearly indicate for policy and practice? How solid is this database and what findings are emerging? What should the research agenda be for young ELLs?

Updated for today's educators--especially those new to inclusion--the second edition of this bestselling guide is the lifeline preschool teachers need to fully include children with disabilities in their classrooms. Easy to use with any existing curriculum, including Creative Curriculum and HighScope, Building Blocks gives educators three types of practical, research-based inclusion strategies that promote progress in critical areas like behavior, emergent literacy, and peer relationships. A must for professional development, this revised edition helps teachers thrive in the era of accountability with NEW material that reflects the six years of changes in early education since the first edition. Teachers willdiscover how the Building Blocks approach aligns with OSEP outcomes to help teachers meet the federal requirements for special educationlearn everything they need to know about evidence-based practice and how to apply it in their classroomsprint more than a dozen helpful forms--including classroom assessments, planning worksheets, and child evaluation forms--with the convenient NEW CD-ROM Through clear and instructive vignettes woven throughout the book, teachers will also meet four young children from diverse backgrounds and learn from their teachers' examples of successful interventions. A perfect training tool for teachers and an ideal textbook for college and university courses, this revised bestseller will help today's preschool educators start all their students on the road to lasting school success. Promote inclusion and improve child outcomes through curriculum modifications that allow all children to participate embedded learning opportunities used in typical classroom activitieschild-focused instructional strategies that help students with individual learning objectives A featured book in our Successful Early Childhood Inclusion Kit See how this product helps strengthen Head Start program quality and school readiness.

Support exceptionally bright children with strategies that challenge them to think with more complexity, depth, and creativity Nearly every group of children includes at least one exceptionally bright child. From the especially creative child to the child who has already mastered learning outcomes to the "twice exceptional" child, exceptionally bright children have a wide range of talents and behaviors. This book will help you understand what it means to be exceptionally bright in preschool and prekindergarten and help you guide children to reach their full potential. It includes three broad strategies--differentiation, conversation, and connection--for creating rich and satisfying learning experiences that meet the needs of all children. Use these techniques to adapt your practices, challenge children to think more deeply, and create opportunities for children to learn from each other throughout your literacy, math, and science curricula. You will also learn assessment methods that can help you identify exceptionally bright children and techniques to support children's social-emotional development and strengthen your partnerships with families. When exceptionally bright children are supported and challenged, they will be more confident about their abilities to think and learn. And they will go on to make creative contributions to their future classroom communities. Ann Gadzikowski, a graduate of the Erikson Institute, has more than twenty years of experience as an early childhood teacher and program director. She is the early childhood coordinator for the Center for Talent Development at Northwestern University and teaches early childhood education courses at Oakton Community College.

PERFECT FOR NEW AND SEASONED EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATORS, CAREGIVERS AND STUDENTS ALIKE, this resource covers the spectrum of conditions, disabilities, syndromes and other types of developmental differences that teachers and caregivers may encounter in children from infancy through age eight. For each disability or condition, a very concise definition is presented in straightforward language. Following the definition is a wealth of information in an easy-to-follow column format. The first column details observable behaviors, symptoms, and physical characteristics associated with the condition; the second presents a list of alternative conditions, behaviors and symptoms which may be similar but indicate a different root cause; and, the third column is dedicated to recommendations about how to work with a child who fits the profile of this disability or condition. Particular emphasis is placed on finding effective ways to include the children with special needs in the group. Suggested Web sites at the end of each section offer further opportunity for research.

The HighScope educational model builds on and maximizes children's strengths and abilities, recognizing each child's individual needs and developmental differences. I Belong includes practical strategies and real-life examples of the authors' applications and adaptations of the HighScope Curriculum in a variety of preschool settings serving children with special needs. The elements of the HighScope daily routine, with specific ideas for accommodations for special needs children, are covered in depth. Throughout the book, the authors address the issue of integrating curriculum and therapy and detail how the HighScope Curriculum can facilitate the process of meeting Individual Education Program (IEP) goals.