Sociology: Data

Includes population surveys, vital records, provider surveys, historical surveys, FastStats, data collections, data visualizations, and more.

The State of America’s Children report summarizes the status of America’s children in 11 areas: child population, child poverty, income and wealth inequality, housing and homelessness, child hunger and nutrition, child health, early childhood, education, child welfare, youth justice, and gun violence. 

he Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. he Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.

The Child Welfare Information Gateway is a service of the Children's Bureau within the Administration for Children and Families of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It provides: Publications, Research, Laws and policies, Databases covering a wide range of topics, including prevention , child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and equity.

Data sets, maps, statistical information and infographics by category

The Cornell Center for Social Science (CCSS) houses the Data & Reproduction Archive, started by the former Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER) in 1982. This extensive data collection emphasizes political and social behavior, demography, economics, and health. The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, and economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers. In addition, our archive includes the reproduction packages created by our Results Reproduction Service.

"The DRC is a national center assisting in the design, development, documentation and public dissemination of user-friendly information about, data findings on and datasets and codebooks for the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH)."

Fairsharing aims to be trusted source of data* policies for all digital objects including datasets, software, and materials, across all disciplines. It also links to many databases and datasets and provides the primary purpose of the database. Under the database icon, click on View All. Then enter a search term (e.g., health) to see databases related to your topic.

For five decades, the General Social Survey (GSS) has studied the growing complexity of American society. It is the only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services are available free of charge. Examples of data that you can find here are The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds a nationwide network of state-level KIDS COUNT® (LA INFANCIA CUENTA™) grantees to track the well-being of children in the United States. By providing high-quality data and trend analysis through its KIDS COUNT Data Center, the Foundation seeks to enrich local, state and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children — and to raise the visibility of children's issues through a nonpartisan, evidence-based lens.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. The Pew Research Group does make some data available to the public for free. Go to this page to find out how to obtain datasets: https://www.pewresearch.org/short-reads/2021/10/22/how-to-access-pew-research-center-survey-data/

Learn about the United States communities through the US Census Bureau's data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes and congressional districts. For each, they cover topics like education, employment, health, and housing just to name a few.

Collects data related to children and women including nutrition, child mortality, maternal health, water and sanitation and much more.

A variety of reports including on such topics as human development, climate change impact and gender inequality can be found here.