LibGuides: Personal Finance: Insurance

Insurance Basics

Glossary of Insurance Terms
This Web site provides an easily searchable comprehensive glossary of insurance terms.
Guide to the Insurance Industry
This guide to the Insurance Industry was created by BRASS (Business Reference And Services Section) and subsection of RUSA (Reference and User Services) Section of the American Library Association. It includes common insurance terms, how to look up an insurance company's rating, and information about what insurance companies generally cover.
Insurance Information Institute
This site has information about a variety of insurance topics, including how to make a claim. With more than 50 insurance company members — including regional, super-regional, national and global carriers, this site provides objective, fact-based information about insurance. It does not sell or lobby.
National Association of Insurance Commissioners:
(NAIC) represents U.S. insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the four U.S. territories. This site provides a directory of state government insurance departments, as well as consumer and industry information. Useful for consumers and professionals.

Colorado Division of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) Division of Insurance
Dora's Division of Insurance has a page for consumers that provides a wealth of information and services. You can file a complaint against an insurance company with DORA. You can compare your homeowners and auto insurance. If you have a deceased loved-one, it provides a link to see if they had a life-insurance policy you are unaware of.