LibGuides: Faculty and Staff Resources: Resources for Research

Available Databases

The PCC Library has tons of databases, available anywhere you have an internet connection! These robust 130+ databases cover humaniites, science and technology, education, social sciences, business, health science, math, and many more subjects.

Find your next eBook, journal article, newspaper, image, video, and more at the PCC Library.

See all databases (A to Z list)

Try out these popular databases:

Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text versions of thousands of publications, including academic titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and video.
Access Medicine World-renowned reference source and includes an interactive experience rather than a static library of books. Resources include e-books, videos, audio, animations, a drug database, and Q&A.  
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Full text collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals. Also includes tools such as Evidenced-Based Care sheets, quick lessons and more.
Credo Reference This all subjects resource includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. It also provides access to more than 1,000 videos, 500,000 visual aids, images, photographs and maps. 
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
Films on Demand Curated videos spanning a wide variety of subjects. Videos include content from leading sources such as PBS, the BBC, ABC News, HBO and more.
JSTOR Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
MEDLINE MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Test Preparation Library (Mometrix)
Offers test preparation materials for common exams including GED, TOEFL, ACCUPLACER, CNI, NCLEX-PN and NCLEX-RN, and tests for law enforcement and emergency medical technicians.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium A multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support. This resource delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas.
Psychology Database This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect Authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health journals, books and reference content, this platform uniquely supports an uninterrupted workflow so researchers move seamlessly among books and journals and across topics and disciplines.

Research Help for Students

Students have access to a 24/7 research help chat with a librarian online through Ask a Librarian. This is especially useful for students with flexible working and school schedules.

Students can Book a Librarian for research assistance, available in person and online. Encourage your students to Book a Librarian through Navigate or click here: Book a Librarian

RefWorks

You and your students have access to RefWorks for free through the PCC Library. RefWorks is a research and citation management tool that can assist you in organizing your citations and generating Works Cited/Bibliographies.

Click here to create a RefWorks account and begin using it today: RefWorks

*Use your PCC email address. Students need to use their @student.cccs.edu email address.