LibGuides: Art: Art Home

Introduction

Welcome to the Art Research Guide! This guide includes descriptions, tips, and links for resources to support Art studies and research here at CCA. Use this guide to explore collections of scholarly and popular articles, images, reference resources, websites, books and ebooks on various topics in Art.

Enjoy your searching and contact a librarian with any questions you may have. Good luck with your research!

Search Here!

Art Resources

Scholarly sources are resources written by academic experts or scholars in a particular field. These sources undergo an editing process called peer-review, during which other subject experts read and evaluate the author's work to verify the information and suggest corrections.

CCA Library OneSearch is a great place to start looking for scholarly sources by selecting the box for "Peer Reviewed" on the left side of the results page. They can also be found in databases that focus on a subject or discipline. Click on the links below to check out databases and start searching for scholarly sources on your topic:

Artstor
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images, find artifacts from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of architectural wonders.

Archive of Early American Images
A database of images, books, manuscripts, and other documents of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources created between 1492 and ca.1825.
National Portrait Gallery
This reference tool helps find useful images - painting, sculpture, and photography - of people of historical interest in the United States. The images give a good representation of what presidents and other historical figures actually looked like, along with short citations of historical note.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of over 57,000,000 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Search for images, sounds, and videos on a wide variety of topics.

Art in Embassies (AIE)
For five decades, Art in Embassies (AIE) has played a leading role in U.S. public diplomacy through a focused mission of vital cross-cultural dialogue and understanding through the visual arts and dynamic artist exchange. Today, AIE is a public-private partnership engaging over 20,000 participants globally, including artists, museums, galleries, universities, and private collectors, and encompasses over 200 venues in 189 countries.
Aurora Cultural Arts District
The Aurora Culture Arts District provides events for artists to share their work with the community via their annual Aurora Art Festival, IMMI-FEST and other special events throughout the year. Visit this site to learn about internship opportunities, upcoming events, and current exhibitions of local artwork.
Sketchpad
Free online drawing application for all ages. Create digital artwork to share online and export to popular image formats JPEG, PNG, SVG, and PDF.

Art

Ask a Librarian!

Librarian

Introduction

Search Here!

Art Resources

Art News