By Executive Order 9066, over 7,000 Japanese, most being American citizens, were forcibly incarcerated at the Granada Relocation Center in Granada, Colorado from 1942-45.
Ground-breaking for the material it covers, the series is one of the few to address the history of Mexican Americans in general and that of the Chicano Movement in particular; it is an indispensable resource for scholars and students
Some of the best things to do on a Colorado vacation revolve around its ancient and historic past. Once roamed by mighty dinosaurs, then formed by native people, westward exploration and expansion, Colorado historic sites and landmarks are waiting to be discovered.
Colorado State Archives mission is safeguarding the administrative and documentary history of Colorado by managing, collecting, preserving, and providing access to state and local government records.
History Colorado's collection contains a rich array of archives, artifacts, and photographic material, all documenting the people, places, and events of Colorado. From this page you can access and search the Online Collection and learn more about the types of items that are in the Collection.
interactive maps and charts that show various dimensions of the great migrations out of the South. They show decade by decade the number of southerners living in northern and western states
Arts & Humanities DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowHundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ArtstorThis link opens in a new windowWith approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images, find artifacts from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of architectural wonders.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowFeatures select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Supportd a wide range of researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it.
Biography Reference SourceThis link opens in a new windowProvides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
British History Online: Primary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowPrimary sources including legal, colonial, economic and cultural issues and many more.
Colorado Historic Newspapers CollectionThis link opens in a new windowA service of the Colorado State Library, CHNC currently includes more than 2.9 million digitized pages, representing more than 650 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 - 2022.
Discovering American Women's History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Ethnic Diversity SourceThis link opens in a new windowCovers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Exploring Race in SocietyThis link opens in a new windowprovides an in-depth look at the history of race and delivers critical context on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusivity, offering students necessary resources for developing a better understanding of the experiences of racial groups in society. Provides essays written and reviewed by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine, and other disciplines working to address issues related to race. In addition, this database includes full-text articles from academic journals, primary source documents, nonprofit organizations, primary source documents and government agency reports.
HathiTrust Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowFounded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items and making them available to read online for free.
History Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowOffers full text ebooks, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
In Context: U.S. HistoryThis link opens in a new windowContextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Search using keywords or explore curated topic pages.
In Context: World HistoryThis link opens in a new windowContextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics from the ancient world to today's headlines. Search using keywords or explore curated topic pages.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowView maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
MAS UltraThis link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text for popular magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection, and expanded full text backfiles for key magazines.
Military DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowCovers topics across all government and military branches, including are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Project GutenbergThis link opens in a new windowProject Gutenberg is an online library of over 70,000 free eBooks. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Purdue Online Writing LabThis link opens in a new windowThe online writing lab offers global support through online reference materials and services for creating citations, cover letters, major-specific writing help, and general writing advice.
