LibGuides: History: U.S. History

Search Here!

Archive of Early American Images
A database of images, books, manuscripts, and other documents of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources created between 1492 and ca.1825.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, the collection includes: over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials; over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections; more than 7,800 photographs.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items and making them available to read online for free.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Library of Congress: American Memory
American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Select the links to be connected to collections and their resources.

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection
A service of the Colorado State Library, CHNC currently includes more than 2.9 million digitized pages, representing more than 650 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 - 2022.
Exploring Race in Society
provides an in-depth look at the history of race and delivers critical context on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusivity, offering students necessary resources for developing a better understanding of the experiences of racial groups in society. Provides essays written and reviewed by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine, and other disciplines working to address issues related to race. In addition, this database includes full-text articles from academic journals, primary source documents, nonprofit organizations, primary source documents and government agency reports.
In Context: U.S. History
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Search using keywords or explore curated topic pages.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.

A collection of journals and ebooks related to history of U.S. History.