FRCC Westminster Campus Library: Instruction

What is Library Instruction?

Here at the library, we provide library instructional programs designed to teach students (and staff and faculty!) how to locate the information they need quickly and effectively. We usually cover the many online library databases we have access to, library book catalog and research methodologies appropriate to the academic discipline, and specific resources and finding tools. Library instruction prepares students to make immediate and lifelong use of information effectively by teaching students the concepts and logic of information access and evaluation, and by fostering information independence and critical thinking. Above all our library instruction sessions are aimed at equipping library users with skills to locate library sources and use them effectively to satisfy their information needs.

What?? You’ll teach a class FOR me on the library resources available to my students?
We absolutely will! You can schedule us to come teach your students anywhere from 10 minutes to 3 hours, it’s entirely up to you and how much you’d like us to cover & your availability!

We are happy to teach these sessions at various locations as well:

• In the Library - in our computer classroom L216 
• We can come to your classroom - our campus or yours! We even travel to dual enrollment high schools! 
• Remotely - we are happy to jump into any WebEx or Zoom session you are hosting!

What is Information Literacy?

Information Literacy is the ability to think critically about information.  It is the ability to evaluate information to determine if the information is appropriate and relevant for your needs.  Information Literacy helps promote problem solving skills and thinking skills - asking questions and seeking answers.  Information literacy starts with realizing the need for information, then locating information, evaluating and synthesizing information found and then finally forming conclusions with the application of information.

This concept includes the skills of understanding how to:

• Determine the extent of information needed
• Access the needed information effectively and efficiently
• Evaluate information and its sources critically
• Incorporate selected information into one's knowledge base
• Use information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose 

Why is it so important?

• Information Literacy is essential to building the foundation for lifelong learning.   Strong information literacy skills are expected of a graduate level student to support the pursuit of continued and ongoing professional development.
• As an adult learner, information literacy skills enhance one's ability to:
  • Master content
  • Become a more self-directed learner
  • Assume greater control over your own learning 

(Source: https://www.ala.org/ala/aasl/aaslproftools/informationpower/InformationLiteracyStandards_final.pdf)

• Electronic databases:  These are academic research databases that all actively enrolled students have access to. An electronic database is a computer-based collection or listing of information.  Some include professional, peer-reviewed journal articles that are organized in a systematic way with searchable elements or fields. Others may include documentary films, magazine and newspaper articles, audio files, primary sources and more! Either way, these databases are what students should be using for college appropriate academic research.
   
• Source evaluation: What makes a good source for a research paper? We can show your students how to evaluate sources and find source material that is appropriate for their specific research assignment.
   
• Research strategies and topics: We can help your students find a topic if they don't have one, narrow down their topics to a good research paper assignment, and instruct them on how to research in a structured way.
   
• Advanced Google searching: Google has a number of tools in their advanced search fields that will save students a lot of time when it comes to finding appropriate sources for research. We will teach your students how to locate these and use them effectively.

Just email Levi Fischer, the Lead Instruction Librarian and he will schedule a time and day with you to instruct your students on all our available resources. We are happy to focus the lesson on an assignment or limit the presentation to specifically requested databases. We are also happy to instruct anyone - so if you, as an instructor, do not know what resources we have we are happy to help you out as well, and we also teach staff. Don't be afraid to reach out!