Thanksgiving is approaching, bringing with it a time for appreciation. There is a display on gratitude by the library front entrance and inspirational quotes. While you browse, think about what you are grateful for and write it on an entry form for a chance to win a gratitude journal. The contest is open to Front Range Community College (FRCC) students, staff, and faculty. One entry per person. Three winners will be selected at random from valid entries.
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash
This NEW online MyCourses course provides an easy way for students to build strong research skills and for instructors to incorporate this content into their own course shells. It walks you through the entire research process: from choosing a topic and developing search strategies to finding high-quality sources and citing them responsibly. Inside the course, you’ll find short video tutorials, practical tips, and guided examples that show you how to search the library’s databases, use eBooks and journals, and locate credible information.
To access the course, just log into MyCourses ---> Select 'Resources' ---> Select 'FRCC Library Resource Shell FA25'!
The library has placed three little free libraries around campus. Look for one across from the Math Department offices, one near the cafeteria, and one near entrance 8. Feel free to donate books to these libraries that you think others would enjoy.
Photo by Kayl Photo on Unsplash
Our librarian, Levi Fischer, created this amazing video on how to search the Library's databases. It starts with a simple search but moves into how to refine your search to improve your results.
Is Autumn your favorite season? Read some inspiring quotes about fall on the bulletin board next to the elevator in the library. Leave a quote of your own. Here are a couple of them:
"Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower" - Albert Camus
"I guess it's something about the air. Fall air feels like possibility." - Becky Albertalli
In 2024 more than 1/2 of all Americans made a financial goal. Are you one of them? This guide has links to resources that may help you achieve your goals. If you need further assistance, don't hesitate to ask a librarian to help you find the resources you need.
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash
Our online library collection has more than academic materials. It also has articles from popular magazines and trade journals! Reading magazines and trade journals can help you relax, explore a topic, solve a problem, learn about a potential career field, and keep you informed. Here’s a guide to help you learn more about how to use our library to find magazines and trade journals that may interest you or members of your family.
Did you know that there is a Prayer and Meditation Room in the College Hill Library? This room can be used individually or in small groups. It is open to any member of the Front Range Community College community.
Photo by Jack Sharp on Unsplash
The debate is ages old: Where does language come from? Is it an artifact of our culture or written in our very DNA? In recent years, the leading linguists have seemingly settled the issue: all languages are fundamentally the same and the particular language we speak does not shape our thinking in any significant way. Guy Deutscher says they're wrong. From Homer to Darwin, from Yale to the Amazon, and through a strange and dazzling history of the color blue, Deutscher argues that our mother tongues do indeed shape our experiences of the world. Audacious, delightful, and provocative, Through the Language Glass is destined to become a classic of intellectual discovery.
It's time to say arrivederci to your fears of learning a new language. With this easy-to-follow guide, you'll have no problema speaking and understanding Italian. Presto! Before you know it, you'll get past ciao and really be able to converse. Beginning with everyday Italian expressions and a review of basic pronunciation, Italian Demystified covers key grammar fundamentals such as common verb tenses, nouns, pronouns, and gender.
Learn German Verbs Through Pictures
It's the easiest way to remember your verbs!
McGraw-Hill Complete Medical Spanish, Third Edition helps you communicate effectively with Spanish-speaking patients and improve the quality of the medical care they receive. Each chapter of this bestselling program features vocabulary, key phrases, dialogs based on common medical situations, and exercises that reinforce understanding and build confidence.
Adults who want to learn a foreign language are often discouraged because they believe they cannot acquire a language as easily as children and when they find the methods used to teach children don't seem to work for them. In this book, the authors draw insights from psychology and cognitive science to show that adults can master a foreign language if they bring to bear the skills and knowledge they have honed over a lifetime.
Mixing genders, inverting subjects and objects, and false cognates are just a few of the blunders English-speaking Spanish-language learners commonly make. In Correct Your Spanish Blunders, veteran Spanish teacher Jean Yates identifies these and other common trouble spots and clearly explains the reasons behind them. You will discover how grammar patterns of Spanish differ from those of English and why trying to translate word for word, structure for structure, from English, can lead to big trouble.
This edition of the widely acclaimed reference classic reflects the updates of the Japanese government’s official Joyo kanji list. A readable, detail-rich guide to all aspects of the Japanese writing system, it explains the kanji and kana’s history, orthography, and usage, as well as guides to writing, punctuation, romanization, and how to use Japanese dictionaries and reference books. For all 2,136 Joyo kanji, here are their officially recognized readings, most important definitions, and up to 5 useful compounds.
All infants and toddlers need experiences that nurture, support, and teach their home language and culture. Language is a vital component of early experiences well before the child can say his first word. Even the most experienced caregiver can feel a bit unsure about meeting the unique needs of infants and toddlers from different language backgrounds. This book outlines adaptable strategies that caregivers of children younger than the age of three need to feel confident that they know how language develops, how cultural differences can come into play, and how to assess an individual child’s situation to provide appropriate support.
Chinese Demystified walks you step by step through the fundamentals and moves on to more advanced topics. Each chapter concludes with a self-test that allows you to track your progress, and a comprehensive final exam at the end of the book gives instant feedback on new language skills. The book includes characters in simplified and traditional formats along with pinyin phonetic translation for easy pronunciation.
Cases of language loss and recovery bring up an intriguing paradox. If two languages are stored in the brain, how can it be that a person can lose one of them, but not the other, and then gain one back without relearning it? The traditional models of how a language is represented in the brain suggest that languages can become inaccessible, even though they are not entirely lost. As the author demonstrates through fascinating cases, stress--whether due to foreign language immersion, sleep deprivation, or brain damage--can lead to the apparent loss of one language, but not the other.
Learn helpful Arabic vocabulary without being intimidated by its non-Roman script! Your desire to learn Arabic may be twarted by its script; how will you pick up the language if you can't understand its characters? Read and Speak Arabic for Beginners overcomes this obstacle by providing an accessible, entertaining program that will reinforce vocabulary as well as help you create basic structures.
This book includes more than 320 exercises with answers to sharpen your French vocabulary skills. Plus, you will have access to 70 minutes of downloadable audio files for additional practice--it's just like having your own virtual tutor! You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible.
Click here to see some of the new materials that we have recently added to the the FRCC Westminster Library Collection.
| Contact Us | |
|---|---|
|
|
|
|
303.404.5504 |
|
