LibGuides: Biology Subject Guide: Health Sciences Research

Health Science Websites

Online Resources: Health Sciences

Online resources are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. General online sources must always be carefully vetted to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).

MicrobeWiki
MicrobeWiki is a free wiki resource on microbes and microbiology, authored by students at many colleges and universities.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
As a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI's mission is to develop new information technologies to aid in the understanding of fundamental molecular and genetic processes that control health and disease.
RCSB Protein Data Bank
This resource is powered by the Protein Data Bank archive-information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.

National Library of Medicine Resources

Government Websites: National Library of Medicine Resources

Government websites are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. Government sources are generally considered more accurate than general online resources, but it is part of a researcher’s due diligence to vet sources in order to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).

Chemical Information including ChemID Plus
View and manipulate chemical structures for over 388,000 chemicals. Create SIS and TRANS models, conduct structure similarity searches, and view chemical synonyms.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
DailyMed
The DailyMed database contains labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).
Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) contains information taken from the labels of approximately 76,000 dietary supplement products available in the U.S. marketplace.
Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)
Database contains information on over 14,000 public and private sector health and biomedical organizations, with specialized information in a variety of disciplines.
Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC)
The core purpose of the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) is to develop and provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster and public health emergency preparedness, response, and recovery.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
The Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB) is a toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas.
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
Information about all health services research and public health projects.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Consumer information about prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, dietary supplements, and herbal remedies.
Medline Plus: Genetics
Find consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.
MedlinePlus: Health Information from the National Library of Medicine
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
My Family Health Portrait
Using My Family Health Portrait you can enter your family health history, learn about your risk for conditions that can run in families, print your family health history to share with family or your health care provider, and save your family health history so you can update it over time.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf
Bookshelf is an online searchable collection of more than 500 books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, and the life sciences.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Catalog
Provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials. Links to the library's holdings in LocatorPlus, NLM's online public access catalog, are also provided.
NLM Household Products Database
The Household Products Database is a consumer guide that provides information on the potential health effects of chemicals contained in more than 10,000 common household products used inside and around the home. This resource helps scientists and consumers learn about ingredients in brand-name products.
OMIM – Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man: An Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders
A catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with links to literature references, sequence records, maps, and related databases. It is based on the book Mendelian Inheritance in Man by Dr. Victor A. McKusick .
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (PHPartners)
PHPartners helps the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Health Science Government Websites

Government Websites: Health Sciences

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
The CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error, or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE)
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) pursues its mission through broad-based health and environmental protection programs and activities. These include chronic disease prevention; control of infectious diseases; family planning; injury and suicide prevention; general promotion of health and wellness; provision of health statistics and vital records; health facilities licensure and certification; laboratory and radiation services; emergency preparedness; air and water quality protection; hazardous waste and solid waste management; pollution prevention; and consumer protection.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
NIAID conducts and supports basic and applied research to better understand, treat, and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases.
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization (WHO) works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable.

Biology Subject Guide: Health Sciences Research

Biology Video

Health Sciences Research