Concurrent Enrollment: Library Resources at FRCC-LC

One-on-one research appointments with a librarian are available to instructors who would like an overview of library resources they can use in their classes and share with students.

Would you like us to present an online, interactive session for your students, where we explore library resources and information literacy? Reach out to Laura Puls or Drew Bagby!

Topics could cover:

• Building a good search strategy for a strong research paper
• Choosing & using the best research databases
• Tour of free library resources & tools
• Citing sources (and why citations are important!)
• Navigating online information: Information literacy, expert Googling, Creative Commons/fair use

Do you have an article, book chapter, or saved search you want to share with your concurrent enrollment students or fellow instructors? Do you want to link directly to material in your syllabus or in D2L/MyCourses? Use a permalink!

When you're searching a database, the link in the browser bar is session-specific. This means that the link changes based on when you use the database, what you type in, what filters you use, and what you click. The session-specific link in the browser bar will not work if you copy it as is and share it with others. When others click your session-specific link, they will likely get an error message or the database will redirect them to the database homepage, rather than to the content you wanted to share.

A permalink will always go to the same content you were viewing before. Below are the steps to finding and copying a permalink in most FRCC-LC databases.

How to Find a Permalink

1. Click on one of FRCC-LC's databases like Academic Search Premier, from the FRCC-LC database page or on a FRCC Research Guide like this one.
2. Type in search terms related to your topic.
3. When you found an article or chapter you want to share, click on the item title.

4. Inside the item record, look at the menu on the left. Click on Permalink.

5. At the top of the item record, a permalink bar pops up with the link that you can copy and share!