Primary Sources

Fordham University’s collection of Primary Sources for Medieval History

An open source repository of selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations of documents relating to European History. This source is organized by country.

Database of full text sources searchable by author, genre, title, and language.

Digital collection of Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts.

An online collection of primary sources on Law, History, and Diplomacy from the Lillian Goldman Law Library of Yale University.

Gallica is an online database maintained by the Bibliothque nationale de France. They have a vast collection of images, texts, videos, and exhibits covering every discipline.

"The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language, using twenty-first century technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period C.E. 1100-1500) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English."

An extensive collection of eyewitness accounts from Medieval and Renaissance History.

A rich collection of free medieval resources based at Georgetown University.

Defining Documents in World History: The Middle Ages offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped law, government, religion, and culture throughout the Middle Ages. The text provides in-depth analysis of more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of events from 476 to 1500 B.C.E.

The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. Search or browse by country, time period, and more.