Dental Programs Research Guide

For more than 40 years, students and practitioners alike have relied on Modern Dental Assisting for its cutting-edge content, easy-to-grasp writing style, step-by-step procedures, and top-notch visuals. With updated content - including the latest technological advancements, clinical photographs, and new coverage on cultural diversity and how it relates to patient care - this new edition will guide you from your first day of class all the way to your first job in dental assisting. Step-by-step procedures for general and expanded functions use color coding and clinical photos to demonstrate key dental assisting competencies.

So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? What are the pros and cons of these various fields? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians

While focused on dentistry in the UK, this practical quick reference guide can apply to dental assistants and hygienists. It supports dental nurses in their everyday work and provide easy access to information they may require in clinical sessions. Provides an overview of legal & ethical issues, basic anatomy, common diseases, patient communication, drugs and materials, and more.

Discusses step-by-step procedure for finding, evaluating, and applying research for various dental hygienist tasks, like dental hygiene, public health, preventative medicine, fluoridation, and oral conditions.

The book covers vital interpersonal skills and the important aspects of business management and marketing relevant to dentistry. In addition, it explains the development of dental care, enhancing the reader's understanding and awareness of the necessary clinical aspects of dentistry. It also addresses the General Dental Council's Standards for the Dental Team, which details the nine principals for observing patient rights, and looks at new regulations introduced by the Health and Social Care Act.

Helps readers navigate through options such as starting a practice, associateships, and buying an existing practice with helpful information on business systems, marketing, staffing, and money management...New and expanded chapters on dental insurance, patient communication, personal finance, associateships, embezzlement, and dental service organizations.

Includes expanded information on the electronic health record (EHR); the most recent HIPAA and OSHA guidelines; important soft skills, including Career-Ready Practice exercises; and all the latest technology, equipment, and procedures in use today. Includes images with annotated text on common dental office equipment, forms, and administrative. What Would You Do? boxes present common situations you may face in the workplace. Patient file folder with examples of both electronic and paper clinical forms and records provides you experience working with confidential documents.

Includes a wide range of dental office skills which are mapped to the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) test blueprint including technology, communications, appointment setting, dental charting, business office procedures, financial arrangements, and more!

Describes the role of the public health professional in improving the oral health care of people throughout the community. It discusses key topics such as access to care, the assessment needed for program planning, social responsibility and government policy, cultural diversity, and career options in public health. This book helps you prepare for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) and to develop the core competencies needed in the practice setting.

Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into America's silent epidemic of oral disease, exposing the hidden connections between tooth decay and stunted job prospects, low educational achievement, social mobility, and the troubling state of our public health...Teeth exposes for the first time the extent and meaning of our oral health crisis. It joins the small shelf of books that change the way we view society and ourselves―and will spark an urgent conversation about why our teeth matter.

Provides practical information and advice on topics related to dental and overall health...It begins with the most important question: how to choose a competent and ethical dentist - and ends with a discussion about technological advances in the dental field. Topics such as the cost of dental treatment, pediatric and geriatric dental needs, and the link between sleep apnea and your mouth are covered. Most importantly, it guides readers to a better understanding of the link between dental and overall health.