Mathematics Subject Guide

Welcome to the Mathematics Subject Guide!

"Mathematics" by Robert Scarth is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

We’ve made accessing the databases easier than ever! 

The CCCOnline Library is excited to provide student access to 33 different databases for nearly every academic area! Each research database provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, streaming academic videos, primary sources, images, newspaper articles, and more. Featured databases include the following:

Please note: you must be enrolled in a CCCOnline course to access the CCCOnline Library databases.

1. Select a subject or vendor from the filters on the Research Databases webpage.
2. Access a database by selecting the Database Login icon, or click on the title for additional information. 
3. Enter your S# when prompted.

How can the library help you? Get in touch with us at https://www.ccconline.org/library-contact-us/.

Do you have a suggestion for a link that has helped you? We would love to check it out! Please send it to us at https://www.ccconline.org/library-contact-us/.

The timeliness of the information:

When was the information published or posted?
Has the information been revised or updated?
Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
Are the links functional?

The importance of the information for your needs:

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
Who is the intended audience?
Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?

The source of the information:

Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?

.ac.uk = Academic institutions in the UK
.com = Commercial sites
.edu = Educational institutions
.gov = Government
.nhs.uk = Health information services in the UK
.org = Non-profit organizations
.mil = Military
.net = Network.

The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content:

Where does the information come from?
Is the information supported by evidence?
Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?

The reason the information exists:

What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

Used with permission from The University of Chicago. 

Academic Integrity Policy from CCCS

Please check with your Home College and Instructor's Academic Integrity policy for any questions. 

Academic Integrity:
Plagiarizing, cheating, or committing any other form of academic misconduct including, but not limited to, unauthorized collaboration, falsification of information, and/or helping someone else violate reasonable standards for academic behavior. Students who engage in any type of academic dishonesty are subject to both academic consequences as determined by the instructor and to outcomes as set forth in the Student Behavioral Expectations and Responsibilities Resolution Procedure.

• Cheating: The act of using or attempting to use an examination or other academic work, material, information, or study aids which are not permitted by the instructor. Cheating includes, but is not limited to:
  • Using books, notes, or calculators or copying from or conversing with others during examinations (unless such external aids are permitted by the instructor).
  • Having someone else do research, write papers, or take examinations for someone else.
  • Submitting work completed in one class to fulfill an assignment in another class without prior approval from the instructor(s).
  • Stealing, distributing, selling, and buying tests or having someone take an exam on someone else’s behalf.
• Fabrication: The invention of material or its source and its use as an authority in academic work. Fabrication includes, but is not limited to:
  • Inventing the data for a scientific experiment.
  • Inventing the title and author of a publication in order to use the invented publication as a source.
  • Knowingly attributing material to an incorrect source.
• Plagiarism: The act of using someone else’s work without giving proper credit to the original source. The work can be written, artistic, musical, language, symbols, or media. Reusing one’s own prior work without proper citation (or approval of instructor) is also plagiarism.

For more information on SP 4-30a – Student Behavioral Expectations and Responsibilities Resolution Procedure, see here. 

Academic Integrity

Academic integrity and honesty have always been important components to being a successful college student. However, today's online world has magnified the importance of acting with integrity and honesty in the college classroom. We offer you helpful information on just what Academic Integrity is and why it's important as well as information on how to avoid academic dishonesty and the pitfalls of plagiarism.

"Why Cite? York U. Libraries" by Teaching & Learning at York U. Libraries is licensed under CC BY 3.0

A citation is a reference to the original source of a given piece of information and allows the reader to locate it themselves.

There are two kinds of citations:

• In-text or Footnote citations: These are short references placed within the body of a work (in-text) or at the bottom of the page (footnote) within the work.
• Full citations: These are placed at the end of a resource, located in a References, Bibliography, or Works Cited page.

Most citations include the following information:

• Author(s): The person, group, or organization that created it.
• Title: The name of the resource.
• Source: Where it is published. (Location and publisher for books; journal, volume, and page number for articles.)
• Date: When it was published.
• URL: Uniform Resource Locator for online resources.

Why do I need to cite my sources?

In writing your research paper, you will usually use the ideas of previous authors. In order to use and build on those ideas in your paper, you must cite where information comes from.

There are three main reasons why you need to cite:

1. Provides solid research to help prove the information you present 

2. Allows anyone who reads your paper enough information to find the source you used

3. Prevents plagiarism and gives credit to the original author

There are two parts to citing sources. In-text citations and References (APA), footnotes or endnotes and Bibliography (Chicago), or in-text citations and Works Cited (MLA) page. 

Please contact a Librarian if you need any help with your citations! 

You need to cite it when:

•  Quoting: using another person's exact words
•  Paraphrasing: restating another person's ideas or thoughts in your own words
•  Summarizing: a concise statement of another person's ideas or thoughts in your own words
•  Reusing facts, information and data; this includes your own previously published works
•  Discussing studies, arguments, points of view

You do not need to cite:

• Well known facts and common knowledge
  • information found in many sources
  • information that most people know
  • information shared by a cultural or national group
• Your own ideas
• Things that are easily observed
• Common sayings that are used in everyday speech

When in doubt, cite it!

Home College Library Websites

Your home college library can help you find physical research material and other sources. Visit the links below to learn more about what each college offers.

Home College Tutoring Websites

Your home college also offers academic and tutoring support. Visit the links below to learn more about what each college offers.