LibGuides: ESL Students Library Resources: Preparing for College

Tools to prepare for U.S. colleges

Resources for academic writing and speaking and background information

These resources include encyclopedia-like databases to help you find background information about people, places, and events. Some of the databases also include tips for academic writing in English.

Bloom's Literature
discusses literary movements, authors, literary themes, and artistic works; includes suggested essay topics and easy to navigate related articles and literary analysis and “how to write about” guides.
Credo Reference
good starting place to explore potential research topics; provides encyclopedia-like introduction, related search terms, pro/con, short-medium-long resources. Also allows filtering by that topic within certain fields (i.e. racial profiling in law enforcement, racial profiling in technology, racial profiling in business/econ)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
similar to Credo Reference; focuses on more controversial/debatable topics especially ones in the news. Includes Pro/Con but also more objective articles/background information and breaking news

Learning Express
LearningExpress provides online test prep resources that help improve core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers and become a U.S. citizen. (Note: this database requires Poudre River Public Library District library card to access remotely.)

Oral Communication for Non-Native Speakers of English, 2nd Edition by Agata Guskaroska; Erik Goodale; Timothy Kochem; Monica Ghosh; Lily Compton; and Elena Cotos
Call Number: ONLINE

Publication Date: 2025

This book is an essential instructional tool for developing oral communication skills in academic settings, specifically designed for international graduate students, teaching assistants, postdoctoral researchers, and those preparing to enter academia. The second edition introduces dedicated chapters on developing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Through its wide array of interactive online activities, suitable for both classroom teaching and individual practice, learners can actively develop the skills needed for success in English-speaking academic environments.

Additional Guides to Success

Databases at FRCC-Larimer Campus
by Laura Puls Last Updated Mar 14, 2025 2180 views this year
Doing Research from a Distance Tutorial
by Brittany Dudek Last Updated Jan 21, 2025 71 views this year
Resources for Learning the New Library Databases
by Marcus Elmore Last Updated Jun 16, 2025 1237 views this year

ESL Students Library Resources

Ask Us

Feeling stuck? Get in touch with a librarian!

FRCC-LC Library Staff

General Help

Tools to prepare for U.S. colleges

Resources for academic writing and speaking and background information

Additional Guides to Success