Public Websites - Geology Resources at FRCC - Larimer Campus - LibGuides at Colorado Community College System

US Geological Survey

USGS Volcano Hazards Program - An interactive website showing updates on volcanic activity in the U.S.

Geolex (USGS National Geologic Lexicon)
Index to publications on named geologic rock units. This is the online version of Lexicon of North American Geology.
USGS National Geologic Map Database
Free index to maps and geospatial data. Indexes over 90,000 publications.
USGS Library: Collections
Photographs, multimedia, and publications from the US Geological Survey.
USGS Real Time Data
Provides information through measurement in the field to provide a view of current conditions, like Earthquakes, Volcanoes, Floods, Wildland Fire, Landslides, Drought

LibreText: Geology
The books and educational tools in this collection can be downloaded, remixed, and edited - all for free!
OERCommons
This website provides textbooks, instructional resources, assignments, and more for free. Anything can be copied, remixed, and edited to fit your courses.

Geology.com - This site collects news and articles explaining various geological references.
Data.gov - A US government site with thousands of geospatial and other data sets available for public research.

GIS Dictionary - A dictionary of over 2,500 terms related to cartography, GIS, geospatial analysis and other related topics.

Online Repository of Fossils - 2-D and 3-D images of fossils owned by the Museum of Paleontology at the University of Michigan.
Digital Library for Earth System Education - a National Science Foundation site for students and educators.

National Geophysical Data Center - This website contains data and images of geological formations and phenomena
Earth Science World Image Bank - The Image Bank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public byAmerican Geological Institute (AGI).
Encyclopedia of Earth - This is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
Paleontology Portal - A paleontological resource by the University of California Museum of Paleontology.
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History - Website for the Smithsonian's department of Paleobiology.