NEW WINTER BREAK HOURS:
From Tuesday, December 10 to Monday, December 23rd, the Library will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (closed on the weekends)
From Tuesday, December 24th - Wednesday, January 1st, the Library will be closed.
From Thursday, January 2nd - Friday, January 17th, the Library will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (closed on the weekends)
Thanksgiving is about a grateful state of mind. Reflect on what you have by writing a gratitude letter. Focus on the positive and those who have loved and supported you. When finished clip you letter to the metal screen next to the big desk in the center of the library.
We may publish excerpts of your letter on the library website.
On November 14th a Quilts of Valor ceremony was held at the FRCC Library. Beautiful quilts sewn by the Columbine Quilting Guild were given to student, faculty and staff veterans at FRCC to let them know how much their service is appreciated by their community.
Check out our new database, Mometrix. Mometrix Offers test preparation materials for common exams including GED, TOEFL, ACCUPLACER, CNI, NCLEX-PN and NCEX-RN, and tests for law enforcement, medical assistants, paralegals, and emergency medical technicians. There is also a collection of videos that cover topics in Business and Finance, English, Humanities, Math, Medical, Science and teaching and employment Resources.
Our online library collection has more than academic materials. It also has articles from popular magazines and trade journals! Reading magazines and trade journals can help you relax, explore a topic, solve a problem, learn about a potential career field, and keep you informed. Here’s a guide to help you learn more about how to use our library to find magazines and trade journals that may interest you or members of your family.
College Hill Library is partnering with the Career and Transfer Services by hosting a table of resources to help students and staff fulfill their degree and career goals. The nook can be found near the reference section books in the center of the library. If you can’t find what you need, ask a library staff member for help.
Did you know that there is a Prayer and Meditation Room in the College Hill Library? This room can be used individually or in small groups. It is open to any member of the Front Range Community College community.
Photo by Jack Sharp on Unsplash
Forgot your charger? The library has some phone chargers for short-term checkout and use within the library! Stop by the main desk in the library and see what we have available.
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash
Photo of Eleven Mile State Park by Joe Dudeck on Unsplash
"Cases of language loss and recovery bring up an intriguing paradox. If two languages are stored in the brain, how can it be that a person can lose one of them, but not the other, and then gain one back without relearning it? The traditional models of how a language is represented in the brain suggest that languages can become inaccessible, even though they are not entirely lost. As the author demonstrates through fascinating cases, stress--whether due to foreign language immersion, sleep deprivation, or brain damage--can lead to the apparent loss of one language, but not the other."
"The general stereotype regarding interaction between American Sign Language and English is a model of oversimplification: ASL signers are direct and English speakers are indirect. Jack Hoza’s study It’s Not What You Sign, It’s How You Sign It: Politeness in American Sign Language upends this common impression through an in-depth comparison of the communication styles between these two language communities. Hoza investigates relevant social variables in specific contexts and explores the particular linguistic strategies ASL signers and English speakers employ when they interact in these contexts."
"For the student of Russian or the traveler who needs a more comprehensive information source on verbs, here is the book to recommend. Arranged one per page in Cyrillic type, each verb includes English pronunciation and translations. Features over 1,000 verbs."
"All infants and toddlers need experiences that nurture, support, and teach their home language and culture. Language is a vital component of early experiences well before the child can say his first word. Even the most experienced caregiver can feel a bit unsure about meeting the unique needs of infants and toddlers from different language backgrounds. This book outlines adaptable strategies that caregivers of children younger than the age of three need to feel confident that they know how language develops, how cultural differences can come into play, and how to assess an individual child’s situation to provide appropriate support."
This book includes than 320 exercises with answers to sharpen your French vocabulary skills. Plus, you will have access to 70 minutes of downloadable audio files for additional practice--it's just like having your own virtual tutor! You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible.
"The English for the Spanish Speaker series has helped thousands of Spanish-speaking teens and adults learn English. There are four workbooks and each of them contains stories, activities, conversations, lists of vocabularies, games, dictionaries and answer keys. These books were written to teach English to a person as long as the person can read, write, and speak Spanish. The book is about English for beginners in order to help people live and work in the United States."
"Learn German Verbs Through Pictures
"This book helps you communicate effectively with Spanish-speaking patients and improve the quality of the medical care they receive. Each chapter of this bestselling program features vocabulary, key phrases, dialogs based on common medical situations, and exercises that reinforce understanding and build confidence. No prior knowledge of Spanish is necessary. Start now and soon you'll fluently interview patients, conduct exams, and provide follow-up instructions."
"The debate is ages old: Where does language come from? Is it an artifact of our culture or written in our very DNA? In recent years, the leading linguists have seemingly settled the issue: all languages are fundamentally the same and the particular language we speak does not shape our thinking in any significant way. Guy Deutscher says they're wrong." A New York Times Editor's Choice, An Economist Best Book of 2010, A Financial Times Best Book of 2010, A Library Journal Best Book of 2010
"It's time to say arrivederci to your fears of learning a new language. With this easy-to-follow guide, you'll have no problema speaking and understanding Italian. Presto! Before you know it, you'll get past ciao and really be able to converse.Beginning with everyday Italian expressions and a review of basic pronunciation, Italian Demystified covers key grammar fundamentals such as common verb tenses, nouns, pronouns, and gender."
"This new edition of the widely acclaimed reference classic now reflects the recent update of the Japanese government’s official Joyo kanji list. A readable, detail-rich guide to all aspects of the Japanese writing system, it explains the kanji and kana’s history, orthography, and usage, as well as guides to writing, punctuation, romanization, and how to use Japanese dictionaries and reference books. For all 2,136 Joyo kanji, here are their officially recognized readings, most important definitions, and up to 5 useful compounds."
"Chinese Demystified walks you step by step through the fundamentals and moves on to more advanced topics. Each chapter concludes with a self-test that allows you to track your progress, and a comprehensive final exam at the end of the book gives instant feedback on new language skills. The book includes characters in simplified and traditional formats along with pinyin phonetic translation for easy pronunciation."
"Adults who want to learn a foreign language are often discouraged because they believe they cannot acquire a language as easily as children and when they find the methods used to teach children don't seem to work for them. In this book, the authors draw on insights from psychology and cognitive science to show that adults can master a foreign language if they bring to bear the skills and knowledge they have honed over a lifetime."
"Learn helpful Arabic vocabulary without being intimidated by its non-Roman script! Your desire to learn Arabic may be twarted by its script; how will you pick up the language if you can't understand its characters? Read and Speak Arabic for Beginners overcomes this obstacle by providing an accessible, entertaining program that will reinforce vocabulary as well as help you create basic structures."
"Mixing genders, inverting subjects and objects, and false cognates are just a few of the blunders English-speaking Spanish-language learners commonly make. In Correct Your Spanish Blunders, veteran Spanish teacher Jean Yates identifies these and other common trouble spots and clearly explains the reasons behind them. You will discover how grammar patterns of Spanish differ from those of English and why trying to translate word for word, structure for structure, from English, can lead to big trouble."
Click here to see some of the new materials that we have recently added to the the FRCC Westminster Library Collection.
| Contact Us | |
|---|---|
|
|
|
|
303.404.5504 |
|
