LibGuides: ENG 1021 English Composition I Course Guide: English 121 Literature Resources

English Databases

CCCOnline Library Databases: English

Please note: you must be enrolled in a CCCOnline course to access the CCCOnline Library databases. Enter your S# when prompted. While database sources are generally considered more accurate than general online resources, it is part of a researcher’s due diligence to vet sources in order to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).

Literary Criticism and Theory

Online Resources: Literary Criticism and Theory

Online resources are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. General online sources must always be carefully vetted to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).

A Bibliography of Literary Theory, Criticism, and Philology
By José Ángel Garcia Landa, PhD from the Universidad de Zaragoza.
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
By Dr. Kristi Siegel, Associate Professor of English at Mount Mary College.
Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
By Dino Franco Felluga at Purdue University.
IPL Literary Criticism
The IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
LiteraryHistory.com
An internet library of literary scholarship.

Writing about Literature

Online Resources: Writing about Literature

Suggestions for Writing about Literature
The Guide to Grammar and Writing is sponsored by the Capital Community College Foundation.
Writing about Literature
From Writing@CSU (Colorado State University). A collection of resources to support those engaged in the study of literature.
Writing in Literature
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL). These OWL resources will help you write about literature and poetry. This section contains resources on literary terms, literary theory and schools of criticism, as well as resources on writing book reviews.

ENG 1021 English Composition I Course Guide: English 121 Literature Resources