We are not recommending the use of any of the below resources, merely listing a number of those available. We have not tested each one ourselves. Not all of these tools are free to use. We are not liable for how individuals choose to use these resources, nor are we responsible for providing access to these resources simply because we have listed them.
Individual CCA departments will have differing practices on the use of AI in their courses - please refer to those before using any of these resources for classwork. Keep in mind the ethical use of AI as you use these tools in your personal and professional lives.
Additionally, AI is a rapidly-changing field and these tools may quickly become outdated. We try our best to keep up.
Google's most versatile and comprehensive model, proficient in handling diverse tasks and understanding and generating large amounts of text.
Perplexity's AI-driven search and question-answering platform that combines large language models with real-time web information to provide up-to-date, sourced responses to user queries.
Access Semantic Scholar's corpus of 214 million research papers, 79 million authors, and 2.49 billion citations.
OpenAI's advanced AI image generation model that creates highly detailed and contextually accurate images from text descriptions.
A powerful AI image generation tool that offers high-quality, customizable image creation with the ability to create photorealistic images of people.
An innovative AI image generator that excels in creating images with accurate and legible text integration.
*All model descriptions from BoodleBox
There are THOUSANDS of Bot in BoodleBox. Bots are tools that come pre-prompted to "play" a certain "role" or focus outputs on specific tasks. A few a highlighted below.
Take time to explore bots that seem useful or interesting to you.
One way to discover what a bot does is to query it with "What do you do?" It should give an output that describes the functions of the bot. Below are some bots we wanted to highlight for your attention, along with the output received when the bot was queried with the prompt "What do you do?"
Hello! I'm your Study Skills Coach here to help you develop effective learning strategies and academic habits for success. As your coach, I can assist you with:
I provide practical techniques, personalized guidance, and ongoing support to help you become a more confident and effective learner. Whether you're struggling with a specific course, preparing for important exams, or simply looking to improve your overall academic performance, I'm here to help you develop the skills needed to succeed.
What specific aspect of your study habits or academic challenges would you like to work on today?
Hello! I'm your Math Tutor here to help you understand and excel in mathematics. I can assist you with:
Whether you're struggling with a specific homework problem, preparing for an upcoming test, or simply wanting to deepen your understanding of a mathematical concept, I'm here to guide you through it with patience and clear explanations.
What math topic or problem would you like help with today?
Hello! I'm your Course Planner here to help you design, organize, and optimize your educational courses and learning experiences. As your dedicated planning partner, I can assist you with:
I combine educational expertise with practical planning approaches to help you create engaging, effective courses. Whether you're developing a new course from scratch, revising an existing curriculum, or looking to enhance specific elements of your teaching plan, I can provide structured guidance tailored to your educational goals.
What specific course planning challenge would you like help with today? I'm here to support your educational design process!
Hello! I'm your Virtual Assistant here to help streamline your tasks and provide support for your various needs. I can assist you with:
I'm designed to be responsive, adaptable, and efficient in helping you manage your daily tasks and special projects. Whether you need quick information, organizational support, or assistance with more complex tasks, I'm here to make your work easier and more productive.
What specific task or challenge can I help you with today? I'm ready to assist you in whatever way would be most valuable for your current needs.
As noted in the Bots tab of this box, one way to discover what a bot (or AI model) does is to query it with "What do you do?" It should give an output that describes the functions of the bot.
Elicit is an AI research assistant that helps locate, summarize, & organize research papers.
The site otters 3 plans: Basic (free), Plus, & Pro. The Basic version will likely meet the needs of most CCA students.
After signing up, there is a thorough "Tell us about yourself" page to identify your role & research needs/interests.
The tool meets you at your stage of the research process. There are 3 primary steps: Find Papers, Extract Data from PDFs, & List of Concepts. Notebooks are automatically created with each primary step. These notebooks can be shared with others using the tool.
To Find Papers, write your research question/interest in natural language & the tool will search its database of articles from Semantic Scholar to find the 8 most relevant papers. It will deliver a summary & table of the papers.
To Extract Data from PDFs, upload the PDF(s) you wish to analyze. These will be automatically added to your Library. Elicit will show the basic information about the article & you can choose columns to add (Summary), Main Findings, Methodology, intervention, Outcome Measure, Limitations, & more). The free version also connects to Zotero to import papers.
Use the List of Concepts option to identify common concepts in existing articles. Start by searching for a topic. Elicit will display a list of relevant papers & create a list of the concepts found in common in the results.
There is a thorough Help Center to guide you through using the tool. Additionally, you can join the Slack community to connect with other uses of the tool.
Goblin Tools is "a collection of small, simple, single-task tools, mostly designed to help neurodivergent people with tasks they find overwhelming or difficult." These are free to use.
The tools offered are: Magic ToDo, Formalizer, Judge, Professor, Consultant, Estimator, Compiler, & Chef.
Magic ToDo
Magic ToDo is a tool that breaks large tasks or projects into smaller, step-by-step processes. The tool breaks things down according to different "spiciness levels," or how specific you need the tasks to be.
There is a button that estimates how long a task or project will take, which can help you budget time.
Once the list of tasks has been made, there are checkboxes on the side to check items off as you complete them/
Formalizer
Formalizer is a tool that helps convert stream-of-consciousness thoughts into a different style of writing. You enter your text & choose how you want it transformed (i.e., make it more polite, more professional, easier to read, more informal, etc.). The tool will then convert the text according to your specifications.
The Judge
The Judge is a tool that helps you analyze the tone of a piece of text. It can both judge text & suggest an appropriate response to the message. This can help you understand how your message is coming across or understand the tone of messages you receive.
The Professor
The Professor is a tool that will give you a summary of a piece of text, the "crash course" version. You enter the material, & the tool provides an explanation & an example that clarifies the main points.
The Consultant
The Consultant is a tool that gives advice for a decision. It provides the pros, cons, & overall advice in response to a query. If you input a vague question, the advice will be vague. It's best to be as specific in your question/situation as possible.
Estimator
Estimator is a tool that tells you how long a task is likely to take. This is also integrated directly into the MagicToDo tool.
Compiler
Compiler is a tool that converts text, a "braindump," into a list of tasks.
Chef
Chef is a tool that provides meal suggestions based on the ingredients you have available. It can also take into account dietary constraints, equipment, time, & how many people you are cooking for.
Perplexity is a multi-use AI tool that cites its sources as it answers queries.
The site offers 2 plans: Standard (free) & Professional. The Standard plan will likely meet the needs of most CCA students.
The Home page has the standard "Ask anything" box for querying. The Pro Search button allows for a deeper search of sources & more thorough responses. These are limited for Standard plan users.
You can also focus searches according to your needs: Web searches the entire Internet, Academic focuses on scholarly papers, Math will help solve equations, Writing will generate text without searching the Internet, Video will locate video content, & Social searches discussion boards & opinions.
When using this tool to search the Web, it is more likely to pull up websites with marketing copy than resources from reputable or appropriate academic or professional resources. Additionally, when in Academic mode, the resources Perplexity accesses are mostly abstracts, not full links to scholarly articles. If you find a title through this mode that is interesting, search for it in the Library databases or request it through InterLibrary Loan.
You can attach text or PDF files to help in your query (limited for Standard plan).
Running a basic, natural language search results in an answer with citations, sources listed at the top of the response as well as in-text citations.
The Discover page offers a variety of trending topics across the Internet, which you can customize according to your interests.
The Spaces page allows you to organize files, research, & projects. It also allows for collaboration with other Perplexity users.
The Library page stores your saved threads & collections.
There is a Getting Started with Perplexity page for folks new to the tool, as well as a FAQ page if you need a quick description of a function of the tool.