PSC 1025 American State & Local Government Course Guide

FiscalNote was founded with the principle of bringing people closer to their governments and created a tool to help you quickly identify and contact elected officials including, members of Congress currently representing you.

govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.

From the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room, Serial and Government Publications Division, Library of Congress.

The official website for the Supreme Court of the United States of America, which lists recent decisions, opinions, oral arguments, and case documents.

Official web portal of the United States Senate.

Official website of the U.S. Judicial Branch.

Official web portal of the United States House of Representatives.

The National Association of Counties (NACo) seeks to strengthen America’s counties by advancing excellence in public service to help people and places thrive across America.

NCSL seeks to advance the effectiveness, independence, and integrity of legislatures and to foster interstate cooperation and facilitate the exchange of information among legislatures.

The National League of Cities is an organization comprised of city, town and village leaders that are focused on improving the quality of life for their current and future constituents.

The State and Local Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments and other organizations.

In every U.S. State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information - information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, even dates of fish stocking.

The United States Conference of Mayors is the official non-partisan organization of cities with a population of 30,000 or larger.

Leading government career site devoted to government professionals seeking employment in the public sector. Find state and local government jobs for city, county, and state agencies.

ASPA advances excellence in public service, primarily through serving as the critical bridge between public administration scholarship and practitioners in the field.

The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about women’s political participation in the United States. Its mission is to promote greater knowledge and understanding about the role of women in American politics, enhance women's influence in public life, and expand the diversity of women in politics and government.

FactCheck.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

IPL is a repository of 500,000+ essays curated across thousands of topics to help you finish your homework.

The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history and civil discourse to the nation's most pressing contemporary governance challenges.

From the Pew Center on the States. Stateline provides daily reporting and analysis on trends in state policy.

The Urban Institute is the trusted source for unbiased, authoritative insights that inform consequential choices about the well-being of people and places in the United States. They are a nonprofit research organization that believes decisions shaped by facts, rather than ideology, have the power to improve public policy and practice, strengthen communities, and transform people’s lives for the better.

USA.gov is your online guide to government information and services.

USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Its mission is to show the American public what the federal government spends every year and how it spends the money.

Vote Smart's mission is to provide free, factual, unbiased information on candidates and elected officials to all Americans.

Political news, analysis, and opinion from CNN.

GovTrack.us is the leading non-governmental source of legislative information and statistics.

From the Center for Responsive Politics. Resource for tracking federal campaign contributions.

Over 5000 carefully selected policy & political websites.

Launched online in 1997, Politics1 is published as a non-partisan public service to promote fully informed decision-making by the American electorate.

Politics and government mainly in the UK and the U.S.A.

PolitiFact is an independent fact-checking organization.

Since 1995, non-partisan report cards have provided information on United States Congress member's record of making "good" laws.

Public Agenda is a national, nonpartisan, nonprofit research and public engagement organization headquartered in New York City.

Taxpayers for Common Sense is a nonpartisan budget watchdog that has served as an independent voice for the American taxpayer since 1995. TCS works to ensure that taxpayer dollars are spent responsibly and that government operates within its means.

Official portal for Denver city and county government.

Official portal for Colorado Springs city government.

Official portal for Fort Collins city government.

Official portal for Grand Junction city government.

Official portal for Greeley city government.

Official portal for Pueblo city government.

The official state web portal.

CCI is a non-profit, membership association whose purpose is to offer assistance to county commissioners, mayors, and council members and to encourage counties to work together on common issues.

Official website for the incumbent governor, from the Colorado State Web Portal.

CML’s mission is to protect and promote municipal interests and priorities; to ensure municipal leaders have information they need and the opportunity to inform others; and to demonstrate leadership and provide opportunities for leadership from members.

The Attorney General and the Department of Law, collectively referred to as the Colorado Attorney General’s Office, represents and defends the legal interests of the people of the State of Colorado and its sovereignty. The Attorney General exercises the responsibilities given to the office by the Colorado Constitution, statutes enacted by the Colorado General Assembly, and the common law.

The Denver Regional Council of Governments is a planning organization where local governments collaborate to establish guidelines, set policy, and allocate funding in the areas of: transportation and personal mobility; growth and development; and aging and disability resources.

OnTheIssues.org's mission is to provide non-partisan information for voters elections, so that votes can be based on issues rather than on personalities and popularity.

FindLaw's Learn About the Law features informational articles about a wide variety of legal topics, as well as specific information about subjects such as how to hire an attorney and understanding your state's unique laws.

LawHelp.org has been created for people living on low-incomes and the legal organizations that serve them. LawHelp.org provides referrals to local legal aid and public interest law offices, basic information about legal rights, court forms, self-help information, court information, links to social service agencies, and more in your state.

Probono.net works to bring the power of the law to all by building cutting-edge digital tools and fostering collaborations with the nation’s leading civil legal organizations.