Getting Started
CCCS Online Library Research Databases
We’ve made accessing the databases easier than ever!
The CCCS Online Library is excited to provide student access to more than 130 different databases for nearly every academic area! Each research database provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, streaming academic videos, primary sources, images, newspaper articles, and more. Access these resources through your home college library's website or at https://cccs.libguides.com/home.
Contact library for help
How can the library help you? Get in touch with us!
Reading Scholarly Articles
CRAP Test
What is the CRAP Test?
Currency
- How recent is the information?
- How recently has the website been updated?
- Is it current enough for your topic?
Reliability
- What kind of information is included in the resource?
- Is content of the resource primarily opinion? Is is balanced?
- Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?
Authority
- Who is the creator or author?
- What are the credentials? Can you find any information about the author's background?
- Who is the published or sponsor?
- Are they reputable?
- What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
- Are there advertisements on the website? If so, are they cleared marked?
Purpose/Point of View
- Is this fact or opinion? Does the author list sources or cite references?
- Is it biased? Does the author seem to be trying to push an agenda or particular side?
- Is the creator/author trying to sell you something? If so, is it clearly stated?
Adapted with gratitude from Molly Beestrum.
The CRAP Test?
Steiner, Peter. "On the Internet, Nobody Knows You're a Dog." Cartoon. The New
Yorker 5 July 1993: n. pag. The New Yorker. Web. 10 Dec. 2014.
Video
This video was created for CCCOnline by Stefanie Stephens.
Additional CRAP Test Tools
Below are some links for slightly different adaptations of the CRAP Test. Please check out the MCHS CRAP Test evaluation rubric if you're having difficulties! It's a great tool that allows you to score each area of the website and make an informed, fact-based decision!
- Mercer Crap TestA printer-friendly version of the CRAP Test from Mercer Libraries.
Contact library for help
How can the library help you? Get in touch with us!
Academic Integrity & Plagiarism
Plagiarism Information
- Avoiding PlagiarismFrom the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Academic Integrity
Academic Integrity
Academic integrity and honesty have always been important components to being a successful college student. However, today's online world has magnified the importance of acting with integrity and honesty in the college classroom. We offer you helpful information on just what Academic Integrity is and why it's important as well as information on how to avoid academic dishonesty and the pitfalls of plagiarism.
"Why Cite? York U. Libraries" by Teaching & Learning at York U. Libraries is licensed under CC BY 3.0
Academic Integrity Policies
Academic Integrity Policies
- Academic Integrity PolicyThis will take you to an important page of the CCCOnline Student Handbook; as a CCCOnline student, you need to read and understand this policy. Plagiarism is defined as part of the policy.
- CCCOnline Consequences of PlagiarismHere you will find information about the consequences for plagiarism for CCCOnline. Please be sure that you read this information closely and contact your instructor, the CCCOnline Program Chair or the CCCOnline Dead of Student Services with questions or concerns. You may also email advising@ccconline.org with any questions or concerns.
Why Cite?
Knowing Why To Cite
When researching, you must give credit where credit is due. The links in this part of the Help with Doing Research Guide will help you to do that correctly and according to the citation style required in your course.
- Using Sources: Why Cite?From the Yale University Library
- Why Cite . . .YouTube video from the University of Texas San Antonio Libraries.
- Why Cite?YouTube video from the Dowling College Library.
Looking for additional research information?
Looking for more research help? Check out the CCCOnline Library Toolkit and Resource LibGuides:
- Academic Integrity ToolkitAcademic integrity and honesty have always been important components to being a successful college student. However, today's online world has magnified the importance of acting with integrity and honesty in the college classroom. We offer you helpful information on just what academic integrity is and why it's important as well as information on how to avoid academic dishonesty and the pitfalls of plagiarism.
- APA ToolkitLooking for APA (American Psychological Association) guides? Look no further than CCCOnline's Toolkit here!
- CCCOnline Library ResourcesThis guide has been created to help you walk through some of the most commonly-asked research and library questions.
- Citation ToolkitLearn the nitty gritty details of citation with our step-by-step tutorial.
- Evaluating Sources ToolkitAfter you've located your sources, how can you tell which sources should be used in a given research paper or project? Find out in the CCCOnline Librarian's Evaluating Sources Toolkit.
- MLA ToolkitCCCOnline's one-stop for all things Modern Language Association (MLA)
- Online Reference ToolkitFrom the CCCOnline Library.
- Reading Scholarly Articles ToolkitDiscover strategies for reading and unpacking scholarly articles in your research.
- Research ToolkitOn this page, you'll find links to information on how to become more information literate - you'll become familiar with knowing when you need information, how to find that information and what to do with the information once you've found it. Take some time to browse though the tabs above.
- Writing ToolkitHere you'll find links to information on how to focus your topic, organize your paper, figure out the different types of essays, how to write more effective sentences and you'll find some grammar help as well.
Contact library for help
How can the library help you? Get in touch with us!
Citation Toolkit
What is a Citation?
A citation is a reference to the original source of a given piece of information and allows the reader to locate it themselves.
There are two kinds of citations:
- In-text or Footnote citations: These are short references placed within the body of a work (in-text) or at the bottom of the page (footnote) within the work.
- Full citations: These are placed at the end of a resource, located in a References, Bibliography, or Works Cited page.
Most citations include the following information:
- Author(s): The person, group, or organization that created it.
- Title: The name of the resource.
- Source: Where it is published. (Location and publisher for books; journal, volume, and page number for articles.)
- Date: When it was published.
- URL: Uniform Resource Locator for online resources.
Why do I need to cite my sources?
Why do I need to cite my sources?
In writing your research paper, you will usually use the ideas of previous authors. In order to use and build on those ideas in your paper, you must cite where information comes from.
There are three main reasons why you need to cite:
1. Provides solid research to help prove the information you present
2. Allows anyone who reads your paper enough information to find the source you used
3. Prevents plagiarism and gives credit to the original author
There are two parts to citing sources. In-text citations and References (APA), footnotes or endnotes and Bibliography (Chicago), or in-text citations and Works Cited (MLA) page.
Please contact a Librarian if you need any help with your citations!
When Should I Cite Something?
You need to cite it when:
- Quoting: using another person's exact words
- Paraphrasing: restating another person's ideas or thoughts in your own words
- Summarizing: a concise statement of another person's ideas or thoughts in your own words
- Reusing facts, information and data; this includes your own previously published works
- Discussing studies, arguments, points of view
You do not need to cite:
- Well known facts and common knowledge
- information found in many sources
- information that most people know
- information shared by a cultural or national group
- Your own ideas
- Things that are easily observed
- Common sayings that are used in everyday speech
When in doubt, cite it!
Help!
Home College Tutoring
Home College Tutoring Websites
Your home college also offers academic and tutoring support. Visit the links below to learn more about what each college offers.