LibGuides: Nursing Resources at FRCC LC: Drugs, Medications

Drug Database

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Look up drugs by brand name, generic name, or by drug class and learn common usages, contraindications, pricing, and more. Links to references and includes handouts for patients.

DailyMed
This National Library of Medicine website allows you to look up labeling submitted to the FDA for "approved human prescription drug and biological products. It provides information on the safe use of prescription and over the counter medications.
Drugs, Herbs, & Supplements
part of MedlinePlus: Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
Drug Therapy
part of Medline plus: index to patient-focused information about medications they are taking, including statistics and research.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Office of Dietary Supplements
PubChem
an open access portal from the National Library of Medicine to understand potential interactions with compounds. Covers "information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others."

Below are divisions and resources from the Federal Drug Administration. The FDA regulates products for safety, including medications, vaccines, medical products, food, and more

Cener for Drug Evaluation and Research
This division within the Federal Drug Administration provides news updates on drug research, safety, approvals, and availability. it also includes compliance and emergency preparedness guidance.
Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER)
regulates approval for vaccines, allergenic products, blood and blood products, plasma derivatives, cellular and gene therapy products
Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs
"includes information about drugs, including biological products, approved for human use in the United States...For prescription brand-name drugs, Drugs@FDA typically includes the most recent labeling approved by the FDA (for example, Prescribing Information and FDA-approved patient labeling when available), regulatory information, and FDA staff reviews that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug."
MedWatch
This website allows medical professionals and patients to report adverse side effects of medications
National Drug Code Directory
contains information about finished drug products, unfinished drugs and compounded drug products.
Orange Book
Also known as Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations, this reference book "identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information."

Nongovernmental websites

These websites combine data and research finding from government, university, medical experts, and the medical literature.

CenterWatch - A global source of news, directories, proprietary market research, and analysis for clinical trials professionals and patients

Drugs.com- offers free, peer-reviewed drug information

Drugwatch - advocacy group providing "information on high-risk medical products and health issues, and helps people take legal action if they’ve been injured."

Natural Standard - effectiveness tracker and interaction checker for alternative medicines; includes adverse effects directory.

ProCalc - a manual for helping nursing students calculate appropriate medication dosages

RX List - includes a pill identifier, comparisons between medications, and interactions checker

Nursing Resources at FRCC LC

Drug Guides

Dopamine Pathways

Drug Database

Nongovernmental websites