The Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is a professional organization supporting many branches of engineering, computer science, and information technology. In addition to publishing journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, IEEE also makes many standards for a wide variety of industries.
IEEE citation style includes in-text citations, numbered in square brackets, which refer to the full citation listed in the reference list at the end of the paper. The reference list is organized numerically, not alphabetically. For examples, see the IEEE Editorial Style Manual.
IEEE recommends specific heading styles to distinguish the title and different levels of heading in your paper from each other. Styles for each of these are built into the template.
The paper title is written in 24 pt. Times New Roman, centered at the top of the first page. Other headings are all written in 10 pt. Times New Roman:
IEEE article templates let you quickly format your article and prepare a draft for peer review. Templates help with the placement of specific elements, such as the author list. They also provide guidance on stylistic elements such as abbreviations and acronyms.
Use the interactive IEEE Template Selector to find the template you need by following a few easy prompts and then downloading your template.
PURPOSE
An annotated bibliography can be a useful step in your research process, helping you understand your topic, narrow your focus, and develop your thesis. Annotated bibliographies may be standalone assignments or part of larger research projects. Writing an annotated bibliography is an effective way for you to determine if the sources you have located will be useful as you write, as well as how you will actually use them to substantiate your thesis/claims.
DESCRIPTION
Like a standard reference page, an annotated bibliography provides publication information for your sources. After each citation, however, an annotated bibliography includes additional information about the source. Annotations begin by summarizing the source’s main ideas. Depending on the assignment, they may then go on to provide an evaluation of the source’s credibility and its relevance or usefulness to the larger research project. Annotation length can vary considerably by assignment; a basic annotation is approximately 200 words.
COMPONENTS OF AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY BIBLIOGRAPHIC ENTRY
List all sources alphabetically according to the appropriate style guide (i.e., MLA, APA, CMS).
SUMMARY Describe the main idea, argument, and purpose of the source.
ANALYSIS Evaluate whether the source is credible by describing qualities of the author, publication, and sources the author cites; point out the source’s strengths/weaknesses.
REFLECTION Identify how the source fits into the larger context of your research.
STYLE
An IEEE annotated bibliography lists sources alphabetically. Because IEEE does not address annotated bibliography format, we suggest following CMS. Always defer to your instructor’s guidelines when formatting annotated bibliographies.
EXAMPLE
Underlined terms (i.e., SUMMARY) are included only for illustration and should NOT appear in your annotations. [1] H. Brink-Roby, “Siren canora: The mermaid and the mythical in late nineteenth-century science, Arch. of Natural Hist., vol. 35, no. 1, pp.1-14, Apr. 2009, doi: 10.3366/E0260954108000041 (BIBLIOGRAPHIC ENTRY) In her article about how mythical creatures fit into the discussion of evolution, Heather Brink-Roby presents the mermaid as the battleground for conflicting responses to Charles Darwin’s evolutionary theories during the latter half of the nineteenth century. Some scholars considering Darwin’s work thought the mermaid was biologically possible because of the extensive biodiversity already recognized at the time, yet Darwin’s ideological opponents saw representations of mythological creatures as clear evidence of the absurdity of his claims concerning adaptation and evolution (SUMMARY). Brink-Roby’s article is credible because her research includes sources dating between 1850 and 1900 rather than contemporary sources that only comment on the scientific culture of the nineteenth century. She includes research from both sides of the debate surrounding Darwin’s evolutionary theories, and her essay was selected as the 2007 winner of the William T. Stearns Student Essay Prize from the Society for the History of Natural History and published in a peer-reviewed publication, The Archives of Natural History (ANALYSIS). This source will be used to demonstrate the fluidity of scientific thought and how new evidence contributes to conversations in natural history. The source demonstrates that while reactions to Darwin based on mythological creatures may seem comical today, such interpretations represented serious scientific thought in the late nineteenth century (REFLECTION).
It is not necessary to mention an author's name, pages used, or date of publication in the in-text citation. Instead, refer to the source with a number in a square bracket, e.g. [1], that will then correspond to the full citation in your reference list.
The below examples are from Murdoch University's IEEE Style LibGuide.
Examples of in-text citations:
"...end of the line for my research [13]."
"This theory was first put forward in 1987 [1]."
"Scholtz [2] has argued that..."
"Several recent studies [3], [4], [15], [16] have suggested that...."
"For example, see [7]."
Book in print
[1] D. Sarunyagate, Ed., Lasers. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1996.
Chapter in book
[2] G. O. Young, "Synthetic structure of industrial plastics," in Plastics, 2nd ed., vol. 3, J. Peters, Ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1964, pp. 15-64.
eBook
[3] L. Bass, P. Clements, and R. Kazman, Software Architecture in Practice, 2nd ed. Reading, MA: Addison Wesley, 2003. [E-book] Available: Safari e-book.
Journal article
[4] G. Liu, K. Y. Lee, and H. F. Jordan, "TDM and TWDM de Bruijn networks and shufflenets for optical communications," IEEE Trans. Comp., vol. 46, pp. 695-701, June 1997.
eJournal (from database)
[5] H. Ayasso and A. Mohammad-Djafari, "Joint NDT Image Restoration and Segmentation Using Gauss–Markov–Potts Prior Models and Variational Bayesian Computation," IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, vol. 19, no. 9, pp. 2265-77, 2010. [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore, http://www.ieee.org. [Accessed Sept. 10, 2010].
Newspaper article (from database)
[9] J. Riley, "Call for new look at skilled migrants," The Australian, p. 35, May 31, 2005. [Online]. Available: Factiva, http://global.factiva.com. [Accessed May 31, 2005].
eJournal (from internet)
[6] A. Altun, “Understanding hypertext in the context of reading on the web: Language learners’ experience,” Current Issues in Education, vol. 6, no. 12, July, 2005. [Online serial]. Available: http://cie.ed.asu.edu/volume6/number12/. [Accessed Dec. 2, 2007].
Patent
[11] J. P. Wilkinson, “Nonlinear resonant circuit devices,” U.S. Patent 3 624 125, Jul. 16, 1990.
Conference paper
[7] L. Liu and H. Miao, "A specification based approach to testing polymorphic attributes," in Formal Methods and Software Engineering: Proceedings of the 6th International Conference on Formal Engineering Methods, ICFEM 2004, Seattle, WA, USA, November 8-12, 2004, J. Davies, W. Schulte, M. Barnett, Eds. Berlin: Springer, 2004. pp. 306-19.
Conference proceedings
[8] T. J. van Weert and R. K. Munro, Eds., Informatics and the Digital Society: Social, ethical and cognitive issues: IFIP TC3/WG3.1&3.2 Open Conference on Social, Ethical and Cognitive Issues of Informatics and ICT, July 22-26, 2002, Dortmund, Germany. Boston: Kluwer Academic, 2003.
Standard
[12] IEEE Criteria for Class IE Electric Systems, IEEE Standard 308, 1969.
Thesis/Dissertation
[1] J. O. Williams, “Narrow-band analyzer,” Ph.D. dissertation, Dept. Elect. Eng., Harvard Univ., Cambridge, MA, 1993.
Technical report
[10] K. E. Elliott and C.M. Greene, "A local adaptive protocol," Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, France, Tech. Rep. 916-1010-BB, 1997.