English 1021/1022 Research Paper

Opposing Viewpoints allows students to browse background information, opinions, and research about controversial topics and national debate topics. Inside an Issue page, students can find additional statistics, updated relevant news stories, images, audio, and websites that focus on the topic.

Points of View Reference Center provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 290 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.

Great starting point for multiple subject areas, Academic Search Premier is one of the best academic journal databases for finding relevant peer-reviewed articles. If you know how to search Academic Search Premier, you will be able to conduct research using other academic journal databases.

Credo Reference includes subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and suggested readings related to 80 major subjects and research concepts. Includes articles about issues in the news and related images and videos.

Social Sciences Full-Text covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, and urban studies.

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! There are thousands of educational videos available on Films on Demand, and can provide an alternative resource for your argumentative research papers. 

U.S. Newsstream is the online gateway to over 850 newspapers. The database includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, The Denver Post, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.