In college-level courses, your instructors often ask you to use academic, peer-reviewed journal articles for your papers and projects. The library pays to give students and faculty access to academic journal databases, that contain thousands of articles written by reputable authors and scholars. The following are suggested databases for students hoping to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles for their psychology research. As FRCC students, you can access these databases from home using your S number. Learn more in the video below.
In the boxes below, you will find a few databases recommended for finding information and research related to psychology. We have even more databases if you're not finding what you need in these suggestions! For the complete list of databases and tips on using them, see these pages:
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals
Provided by the United States National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health (NIH), PubMed provides over 28 million citations for biomedical research and literature. Drawing from information from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books and journals, many citations listed provide access to research materials via PubMed Central and/or publisher websites.
updated scientific research from a variety of disciplines, including Social Sciences and Humanities (Psychology). ScienceDirect includes the full-text of updated articles in psychology. Includes case reports, original studies that often took place a couple years ago, conference abstracts, and systematic reviews and meta-analyses (reviews of findings from multiple studies to build the evidence base for a particular treatment or intervention)
This database is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics, with plain language and pre-made fact sheets and pamphlets. It provides content covering areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Includes a Topic search for mental health.
full text for journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! There are thousands of video relating to the study of psychology.
Research
Articles & Databases
Services
Library Cards (PoudreLibraries.org)