OPEN ACCESS & FREE RESOURCES
The databases listed below are all free resources or open access sources that are great places for academic research. These cover a variety of subjects! We don't subscribe to these as they are free and open to everyone! Click the "i" icon to bring up information about a specific database.
-
AGRICOLA
This link opens in a new window
Agriculture, forestry, environmental sciences, and natural resources students will find research articles and digital collections (art, letters, photographs, tree records, conference reports, and more) related to their agriculture-related major within this immersive library created by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
-
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents about key people and events in African American history. This collection highlights the ongoing pursuit of justice and equality in the U.S. and supports learning about the roots and impact of systemic racism, as well as the efforts to challenge it.
-
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection
This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 to 2023.
-
Education Research Index (including ERIC)
This link opens in a new window
Covers education research and teaching practices. Useful for education, child development, and classroom-focused assignments. Education Research Index combines two powerful education research indexes, ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) and the Supplemental Education Index. The unified indexes allow users to search all content via the ERIC thesaurus creating a unified research experience.
-
Directory of Open Access Books
Provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals
Collection of open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
-
Listing of Open Access Databases
The objective of Listing of Open Access DataBases (LOADB) is to create a web-enabled, linked, classified and categorized collection of Open Access Databases which one can access from a single portal. Although initial focus is on science and technology subjects, the ultimate aim is to include all subject areas.
